We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY disappointed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Dutchman Essenhaus

Das Dutchman Essenhaus
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ingleside, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ate at the buffet and the only thing good was the salad. Everything was overcooked and dried out and we were very disappointed. The service was good, but that's about all I can say about that. We surely won't go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ritapawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    252
    113
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Das ist Sehr Gutt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Met up with some friends at Das Dutchman Essenhaus in Middlebury for a very "Country" style luncheon buffet. The salad bar was hugh and included some "Amish" relishes and puddings that were a special treat for me being from Minnesota! We could not eat all the dishes, but what I had were good "stick to your ribs favorites! Of course their rolls and special Amish Peanut Butter is always a hit. Good chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, a soup I never had before and stuffing even before Thanksgiving really hit the spot! Thanks Das Essenhaus for another memorable time! Bruce and Pam from Woodbury, Minnesota.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucepamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great homecooking. If you are hungry and like down home cooking and happen to be in Middlebury Indiana look no further. This place is excellent. My son loves fried chicken. He gets it any chance he can. He had the broasted chicken with mac and cheese and he said that was the best chicken he had ever eaten. And the mac and cheese was on of his favorites. My wife had the pork chop and was shocked at how thick and juicy it was. She was so glad she only ordered one because the two would have been way too much. I had the chicken and noodles and the noodles were fantastic. Nothing like some fresh food to make your day. Go to the Essenhaus and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowlett9105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best of Indiana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been here a few times with family and it just keeps getting better and better. This is the type of food where you won't go home hungry! Everything about this place is simply legendary, especially the aspect that makes the place seem like a house as opposed to a restaurant. The quilts and tapestries on the walls especially give it that 'homemade' touch. We of course always enjoy the little shop to look around in when waiting for food. If you're in northern Indiana, make sure to stop here!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M3Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“'Das' What I'm Talking About...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I passed this place a million times, but all it took was just one visit. I was with friends and served a family style meal, which is equivalent to a Thanksgiving feast any random time of year. Everything was fresh and from scratch and made me wish I had a 10-gallon stomach to enjoy more of such great Dutch cooking. A complete bakery and large gift shop are just outside of the dining area. So many great things to buy and enjoy, with so many reasons to come back for more of just the experience alone. The restaurant is part of a larger campus-like spread of shops, a farm, banquet hall, and more. I tell everyone about this place and recommend it to anyone, anywhere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCrossIsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Dutchman Essenhaus also viewed

 

Been to Das Dutchman Essenhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing