We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Middlebury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just returned from our third wonderful stay at McKenzie House. From the moment you arrive, you feel well taken care of, and truly feel at home. Sherry and Bruce are beyond wonderful, this was their calling without doubt. Their home is spotless and all the special touches that Sherry has added make it so you don't want to ever leave. I keep asking " for another night". Breakfast is a deight, something for everyone. The conversation is the highlight of the morning, I honestly feel like we are members of the family. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Any room is an experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
130
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second trip to McKenzie House and it felt as if we were visiting family. Sherry and Bruce are very gracious hosts, the rooms are lovely (and immaculate) and the breakfast is excellent. Our secret is that this is a great place to stay when visiting Notre Dame. We were really concerned about the 30 mile distance, but it turned out to be no problem at all. It's a quick trip on the highway to get to games and events in South Bend. Our hope is to stay an extra day next time and visit Amish country and other local sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

From the moment you turn in the drive and see this place you know that you made the right choice. Then you go in and meet the most wonderful new friends you can imagine. Sherry & Bruce make you feel at home instantly. There is nothing pretentious or put on by these good people. The accommodations are super and persude you to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. If for any reason you need any assistance they are at your beckon call. Then after a restfull night comes the joy of breakfast and the entertaining conversation, just don't be in a hurry to go because there is a world of information,laughter & story telling included with the meal. As you can guess we really really enjoyed ourselves. Sherry and Bruce really know how to do it right !
ENJOY YOURSELVES.....Dave & June Pilger Sheffield Lake, OHIO

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilger524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I wanted to plan a romantic motorcycle get away and the right Bed and Breakfast can make it a great weekend. I have stayed at more than few B & B's, but not one has ever surpassed my expectations as much as McKenzie House.
The room, suite actually, The Mollie Suite, was fantastic. I had a feeling we would like it from the pictures, but staying int he room made me realize the pictures don't so it justice. From the moment we were shown the room, we wanted to stay more than just one night. This is a great room for an extended stay, and for two couples, or a family of four. Having a back porch with a swing made for a relaxing evening.
The next morning, we were treated to one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Everything was well prepared, everything we saw was clean, and we had a great conversation with the hosts.
I can't suggest that anyone near the area stay at this Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We were able to check out the other suite in the carriage house, and if there are just two of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigitalRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was my third trip to the McKenzie house. We were having a girls weekend in celebration of my upcoming wedding. We had an amazing time. We visited the nearby Fruit Hills Winery, did some shopping and then came back and relaxed by a fire outside thanks to Bruce! Breakfast as usual was above the top fantastic, with Sherry's delicious pastries and cooking. We are going to make this an annual trip, and can't wait until our next visit!!

Room Tip: Top floor Nicole's suite comfortably slept us 4 with a king size and two queen sized beds. I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethi1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The owners of McKenzie House went over and above what we expected. We have stayed at several B&B's around the world and rate this place at the top of the list. Great service. Great accommodations. Great food. Great company. Will DEFINATELY check for availability for our next date out of town. Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishirish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in the Courtney Suite with friends of ours staying in Mollies suite.
Both are in the Carriage house, seperated from the Main house. We have stayed in several B&B's before and we were extremely pleased with everything Sherry & Bruce had to offer.
The room was large and very comfortable. Everything we needed for our stay was there, and the breakfast was delicious and quite filling. We were greeted with warm hospitality and good humor. We found ourselves talking with our hosts long after breakfast had finished. If you're looking for a place to stay in the area, you couldn't do any better than the McKenzie House!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.2 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
7.0 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.5 mi away
That Pretty Place Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast

Property: McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 52215 Indiana 13, some GPS it is better to use Highway 13, Middlebury, IN 46540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed as a spiritual respite to entice the weary, this deluxe sanctuary offers recreational pleasures to sooth the soul. Suites that offer two-person jacuzzi tubs, pillow-top mattresses, movies & books galore. Outdoor in-ground pool (seasonal) hot tub (open year round). Large gathering room great for meetings, scrapbooking or quilting groups. Enough hot food and fresh baked goods to satisfy any palate--a veritable feast at breakfast. Notre Dame football, Amish Country, and antiques are just a few of the things to add to your enjoyment while at McKenzie House Bed & Breakfast. Great location for family reunion, graduation party or weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing