We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2005

This place is breath taking - lovely grounds, horse drawn carriages, patchwork quilts on the walls, beautiful wallpaper, very well decorated. The breakfast area on the second floor is a nice place to visit with family and friends, hot coffee always available. Fresh cookies downstairs in the cookie jar. The beds are comfortable. The only thing we found that could use some work is the shower heads in the bathtubs - it was like standing in a light rain. Took forever to shower and get the soap off as they have a water softening system, and with hardly any water spraying on you.

Breakfasts at the Inn were not real big, just some boiled eggs, toast, bagles, that type of thing, and some doughnuts and sweet rolls. Cereal was also available.

The food at Essenhaus restaurant left a lot to be desired. It was flavorless. We all ate different things and agreed that it needed some help. Other people around us also were disappointed in the food. Restaurant was clean and nicely decorated.

Bakery at Essenhaus had lots to choose from, and we thought they had reasonable prices. Bought a pie, and it was also very lacking in flavor. Took us a while to decide exactly what kind of pie it was.

Yes we would stay there again. We would choose to eat elsewhere. But the rooms are just so nice, and clean, and comfortable.
Staff was friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    56
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
84
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2004

We spent two nights at the Essenhaus Inn and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The entire inn is a beautiful country inn with well manicured acreage, ponds, etc and the restaurant next door is supposedly the largest in Indiana and after eating there you will know why. The food is excellent and the Rasberry Cream Pie superb. The Middlebury area is a great place for knick-knack shopping, Amish furniture, lawn furniture, etc. The Inn is also only a short distance from places such as Elkhart and some other neat places I can't spell. Excellent front desk service. I accidently left some medicine in the room and it was immediately mailed to my forwarding address.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 16, 2004

I doubt that there are many places like this around.It is so peaceful and offers everything at one location--good food, shopping, places to walk and sit, snacks throughout the day, pleasant employees--in a warm, inviting atmosphere. My sister and I spend a week here every year and go home rested and relaxed. You can get in your car and enjoy many other places nearby, but you certainly don't have to--everything necessary is at this location. I recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2004

My husband and i travelled the 6 hour drive to Essenhaus when i was 7 and half months pregnant. The trip was worth every minute spent in the car. We stayed in the small house located near the main accomodations and it was still close enough to be very convenient to all amenities. We enjpoyed the hporse an dbuggy ride, all the gift/craft shops and especaily the home cooked meals. the food is scrumptious, and even though wwe took this trip 4 years ago my husband still talks about how tasty these dinners were. i loved the fact that there was much to do with out even leaving essenhaus but if you decided to head out for the day, Shipshewana is only about ten minutes drive away and offeres lots of shops and crafty type stores. I would suggest you take the trip wothout the kids as it is more of a laid back and relaxing atmosphere however they do have a farm type area acroos the road as well as mini putt, but most kids are not content to sit around and relax on an old wooden swqing, eat and shop knick knacks all day. I f time and money permitted my hubby and i know will we visit there again in a heartbeat!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokomo,in
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2004

Attended your open House last week-end with relatives from LaGrange and was quite impressed with the new Country Inn. What a beautiful place to stay & beautifully decorated. You have reason to be proud. What was the amount of wallpaper rolls used & who was the winner? Hope some day to be a guest.

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2004

we fell in love with essenhaus, no place better i can assure you

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
178 Tahiti
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2004

I have stayed at the Inn several times and it fantastic. The staff is helpful, everything is clean. Such a quaint place. The suites are fantastic and so relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
7.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
7.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

Property: Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Address: 240 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center! In the heart of Amish Country, you'll experience elegance and comfort from the moment you walk in the door. Unique decor reflects the local culture and community and adds to the comfort and hospitality you expect in Northern Indiana Amish Country. With 89 generously-sized guestrooms and all the amenities and conveniences guests have come to expect, our facility is ADA compliant.Following a peaceful night's rest, every guest can take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. With an indoor pool, fitness room and therapeutic hot tub, guests have the option of enjoying a variety of down time activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Dutchman Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Country Inn Middlebury
Middlebury Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing