We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed at Essenhaus Inn. It is the same as always. Beautiful grounds, pleasant surroundings, and clean, clean, clean.

I judge a motel/hotel by the carpeting and the bathroom. This was just like home and truly appreciated.

The delicious cookies during the day are fantastic. The breakfast buffet is a plus too. Their food is baked on the grounds and very tasty.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the king room. It would have been nice to get one with a balcony, but they were sold out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    58
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
87
86
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Traveled with another couple on our Harleys for our first trip to Shipshewana. We based our choice for accommodations on reviews and were very pleased from the moment we drove up. The Essenhaus is immaculate inside and out. One of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in, well appoinyed with refridgerator. Very peaceful. The pool, hot tub and children's pool are at one end of the complex, the breakfast room is upstairs in the middle. The restaurant is on the premises, just a short worthwhile walk. There are also a few shops on site. It was only a 15 minute ride into town, with sites of interest on both roads leading from Essenhaus. We would certainly return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel was recommended by family- a good choice! Nice big room, clean and quiet. They have a very decent breakfast in the morning. Lots of easy to fix options: fruit, yogurt, bisquits/gravy, bagels, cold and hot cereal/oatmeal, milk, juice. There is a washer/dryer for public to use: $1.50 to wash, $1.50 to dry. if you think you need this options- bring quarters as the front desk had a hard time making change (even though the sign in the facility said to get change from them).
The restaurant is a on property: a little bit of a walk across lush green grounds. The restaurant for lunch/dinner is a must if you are staying here. Decent portions and good prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelagentOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a quiet and peaceful setting, I recommend that you consider the Essenhaus Inn in Middlebury, Indiana. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. This is also a great location for family get togethers. Good setting for relaxing time and catching up on what has been happening with your childre, grandchildren or friends.Food next door at Das Essenhaus restaurant is excellent. Nearby specialty shops are great.

Room Tip: I would recommend a balcony room, where you have a small patio table to sit and relax and take in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In planning a family getaway to Shipshewana, friends recommended this place to us in nearby Middlebury and we are so glad we listened. The inn is clean and comfortable, very country in its décor, and warm and inviting. The older part of the inn houses the original schoolhouse, and its definitely worth the look. You can sit and relax in any number of cozy chairs and play a game of checkers, while enjoying a refreshment. There's much to appreciate, and you can go upstairs on the quaint balcony and see the schoolhouse up close. You can choose to stay in this part of the inn and enjoy a quieter and private setting, as there are only a few rooms. The newer part of the inn was great, though. We stayed in room 126, first floor, which had a perfect view of a tranquil pond, dotted with weeping willows. We enjoyed sitting on the patio with a cup of coffee and taking in the morning view, which included a red covered bridge, horse and buggies and lots of green acres. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and the little shops on the premises are great. They offer a generous coupon for the shops when you check in. You never have to leave the grounds of this inn because it has everything - indoor swimming, hot tub, miniature golf for the family, entertainment in the Essenhaus Heritage hall where we saw the play 'Steel Magnolias", great food, shopping, plenty of space inside the room and outside, and grounds to walk on, run on, or take a carriage ride. We highly recommend this place. It delivered a pack of delights!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Lovely setting, pretty, country-theme decor, delicious complimentary breakfast with best sausage gravy ever tasted. Free cookies and coffee in lobby. Next to excellent Das Essenhaus restaurant with Amish style meals and fantastic bakery. Bed linens were older and felt over used. Check out nearby Shipshewanna for Amish goods and antiques.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in a room with a balcony. It was great! Loved sitting on the balcony enjoying the Quilt Garden. The salt-water pool was so relaxing! Very clean hotel and friendly staff. The breakfast was a little disappointing. I'm not big on pastries. Other than that, we would love to stay at the Essenhaus Inn again. Just won't stay on a Sunday because not much is open in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
7.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
7.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
134 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 6 in Goshen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

Property: Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Address: 240 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center! In the heart of Amish Country, you'll experience elegance and comfort from the moment you walk in the door. Unique decor reflects the local culture and community and adds to the comfort and hospitality you expect in Northern Indiana Amish Country. With 89 generously-sized guestrooms and all the amenities and conveniences guests have come to expect, our facility is ADA compliant.Following a peaceful night's rest, every guest can take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. With an indoor pool, fitness room and therapeutic hot tub, guests have the option of enjoying a variety of down time activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Dutchman Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Country Inn Middlebury
Middlebury Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing