We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, comfort, and hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Middlebury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quality, comfort, and hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Some day we'll spend more than one night here! The Inn is great for a relaxing stop while traveling but would be fantastic as a destination in itself. Rooms are clean and spacious. The wide hallways with comfortable sitting areas just invite one to take time out from all the hustle-bustle.
We love the restaurant, bakery, and shops, too!!

Room Tip: We love the room/s that make an adjoining "suite." A regular with two queen beds opening i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    56
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
84
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Essenhaus is an amazing place to stay. Customer service is excellent! The rooms are clean, the pool is small but nice, there is an amish resturant next door, put-put and ice cream across the street, and not to mention an awesome bakery! When you check in, don't forget to pick up some cookies (free for paying guests) next to the elevators! The continental breakfast is good, small but plenty to chose from. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: As for one in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Inn is beautifully-decorated, clean, and spacious.
The staff is geared toward friendliness, helpfulness, and problem-solving.
The grounds are well-manicured and extensive.
Shops on the premises are fun and diverse.
The restaurant offers both menu and family-style dining.
It's a great buy for the $$.

Room Tip: The balkconey rooms are delightful when the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our third stay. No place nearby matches it. Immaculate, spacious grounds. Comfortable and cozy inside. The furnishings and decor were so homey and inviting. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We always rate the shower head and hot tub, both got a 10. Staff was very polite and helpful. A destination for relaxing, having a great meal and quality shopping. We'll be back.

Room Tip: South side rooms overlook a well kept lawn and pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmerbobmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
481 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wow, truly charming decor! This place is extremely clean and staff friendly. There is so much to do onsite with the little shops, mini golf, biking, restaurant and bakery, trails, buggy rides, etc. The kids love the big high beds. I have never been in a country inn quite like this. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: no spa on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a last minute getaway. When I called, we took the last room, not knowing what we were getting and we were pleasantly surprised! We had a suite with a balcony facing the pond. The room was very clean with lots of towels and pillows on the beds. It was very nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly. The grounds were beautiful as we walked around to some shops. There was a continental breakfast on the upper level which was a little disappointing. I was looking for more variety of hot items like eggs or "make your own" waffles. There is a huge restaurant and bakery. We had a great stay at Essenhaus Inn. We would definately stay again next time we come to Shipshewana!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paris
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent two nights at the Essenhaus Inn. Lovely property, beautifully landscaped. Rooms were spotless as were common areas. Hallways beautifully decorated and furnished. Very cozy and relaxing property. Staff was helpful and friendly. The shops on the property have a wonderful gift selection - some of the best we found on this trip to Indiana. Really nice pool and hot tub. Breakfast is nice and the breakfast area is beautiful. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
7.2 mi away
Blue Gate Garden Inn - Shipshewana Hotel
7.3 mi away
Farmstead Inn
Farmstead Inn
#2 of 5 in Shipshewana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Middlebury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Van Buren Hotel at Shipshewana
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center

Property: Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center
Address: 240 US Highway 20, Middlebury, IN 46540-9713 (Formerly Das Dutchman Essenhaus)
Location: United States > Indiana > Middlebury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests rave about the Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center! In the heart of Amish Country, you'll experience elegance and comfort from the moment you walk in the door. Unique decor reflects the local culture and community and adds to the comfort and hospitality you expect in Northern Indiana Amish Country. With 89 generously-sized guestrooms and all the amenities and conveniences guests have come to expect, our facility is ADA compliant.Following a peaceful night's rest, every guest can take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. With an indoor pool, fitness room and therapeutic hot tub, guests have the option of enjoying a variety of down time activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Das Dutchman Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Essenhaus Hotel Middlebury
Country Inn Middlebury
Middlebury Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing