We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Inn Michigan City
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I attended a show in Michigan City this past weekend and stayed two nights at the Clarion Inn. It was clean and well maintained. The adjoining restaurant was very relaxing and service was good. Food was above average. It was situated in an area of significant commercial development. Many restaurants, retail stores, etc.

I judge a hotel by whether I would return or not. If I stay in Michigan City again, I would certainly return to the Clarion Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hytecher09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin N, Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Clarion Inn & Suites. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accomodating you next time you visit the Michigan City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    36
    14
    25
See reviews for
47
36
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

did not have a reservation, so did a walk in and was given the same rate as if I had booked it online thru one of the booking sites. First was given a room with a king bed (as it was the cheapest and that is what I had asked for). When we went to the room however, we discovered it was in the older section and was more of a 'motel' room than a 'hotel' room. It had the external door, rather than a room off a hallway. The room itself was clean and well appointed, but looked older. I never feel as safe with exterior entrances, plus, to go to the indoor pool, we would have had to walk outside (it was march in the north, that means snow and cold!). I called the front desk to inquire about a different room with and interior entrance and was told that I could switch, but it would be 10.00 more. I agreed and we were given a room in the newer section with an interior entrance and 2 queen beds. The room was very large and well appointed. The beds were plush and comfy, and there was a sitting area, a prep area outside of the bathroom and lots of counter space in the bathroom itself. The heat was good in the room and easily adjustable.
We did use the hot tub in the pool area, but did not use the pool. The area itself is large and well nicely layed out with many chairs and tables in the area. The temperature in the pool area was very pleasant and it was a overall nice atmosphere with indoor courtyard rooms surrounding the area. The only thing that was strange was it was very dark in there. They had lights, but they were very dim and I would be a little concerned if I had children playing in the pool area. Additionally, the walk from the room to the pool, thru the interior hallways was very cold. I do not believe the hallways were heated at all (as it was cold when we were fully dressed and heading to breakfast as well).
They offered a nice continental breakfast. The selection was pretty standard as in all continential breakfast offering with a seleciton of donuts and pastries, toast, bagels and english muffins, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice, coffee and milk. The atmosphere in the breakfast area was very pleasant and clean, which makes any breakfast offering more pleasant.
Check out process was very easy and overall, it was a very nice stay. Would stay agian or recommend to anyone going to this area.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room in the new area (interior entrance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin N, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Clarion Inn & Suites. We have recently updated our breakfast and you will be glad to see hot items and more variety next time you stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Clarion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here twice for local baseball tourney nearby. Pool was great for kids to swim and parents to enjoy beverages and pizza.
Several restaurants nearby.
Room was standard hotel room. no problems at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules003kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a decent but busy hotel in a very busy location right off the highway. It is nice for an overnight stay, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It used to be a Hampton Inn, but lost its franchise. The decor is pleasant, and the rooms are comfortable. The hotel has a very odd floorplan - probably the result of some additions - so it is easy to get lost! The pool is located in a "Holidome" area, and is large. Breakfast was decent (they still use all the old Hampton Inn serving stuff) and free. Free Wifi worked fine.

The hotel is not far from the beautiful Michigan Dunes. It's fine for a short stay on the way to/from somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is very easy to find and conveniently located by shopping and eating. They offer a continental breakfast which is average. The pool and hot tub are nice to have. The pool is heated. It's a bit expensive for what you get but they do accept pets so that's worth the price. They are pet friendly!! We had ants in our room which they took care of but it was a nuisance. They should have comped the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCat6078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Service from the front desk was excellent. Room was fine for one night TV reception was poor. Overall pretty good. Bed was comfortable. Needed more towels Good location and the breakfast was pretty good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nysaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harrison, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As a choice privileges member I have stayed at many of the choice family hotels. Normally when we are traveling and I am looking for a "better" hotel, I know that I can count on Clarion to meet our needs. Until now that is. This hotel is way over rated and overpriced, and should not be called a Clarion. I would rate this no better than an old Quality Inn at best. First, the hotel staff was not terrible or great, just doing their time behind the counter. Second, the rooms were the smallest rooms that we have stayed in...More like a micro hotel room. The bathrooms are split, so if you get up early plan of waking up your spouse if you want to brush your teeth because the sink is outside the bathroom. This area is so small that the coffee maker hangs over the edge of the sink. The bathroom was very small as well, and on the back of the door when you close it there was a hole in the door that has been there for awhile....Room #102 if you stay in there. Also hole in the ceiling from a leak, and wall paper torn on the walls. The bed was ok, did not keep waking up all night or wake up so stiff in the morning that we couldn't move. The internet is far from high speed, but it did work. The sitting area outside of the room near the pool was nice, but we didn't use it because it smelled of chorine so bad from the pool, we had to leave. If you do book a room near the pool expect it to be noisy well into the evening, If you decide you would like to eat, you may want to choose something off site....The Damon Steak house was just a average Applebee’s unless that is what you like. If you are going to Chicago the next day, you may want to just head that way and skip Michigan City all together. My wife said the outlets were ok if you are a guy that likes being tortured...bring your walking shoes! As for the breakfast, I was surprised at most by this…There was nothing hot on the breakfast bar. Not even a waffle maker, there were some waffles that were precooked that I guess you were suppose to toast them for your hot breakfast. Unbelievable....with all the microwave in the bag stuff out there this place is so cheap that they won't serve a hot breakfast. And there is a big sign there that says "show your room key". I don’t think that they have a lot to worry about......nobody is sneaking in to steal that one. We went over to McDonalds and grabbed a sandwich before we hit the road...and no, McDonalds is not my idea of a highly rated breakfast either...but that is for another review...haha.

Room Tip: And stay away from the quality inn down the street, it looked even worse....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimncindy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin N, General Manager at Clarion Inn Michigan City, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Clarion Inn & Suites. I am sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience. Being the new General Manager I wanted to let you know that I am addressing the concerns you expressed. Our breakfast has been upgraded to provide hot options for our guests. The maintenance and housekeeping departments are currently held to the highest standards to ensure all rooms are well-maintained. I know this doesn't change the experience you had with us, but I do hope you would give the Clarion Inn another opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations. Please contact me directly when you are traveling through Michigan City again. erin.napier2@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.7 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Michigan City

Property: Clarion Inn Michigan City
Address: 5820 Franklin St, Michigan City, IN 46360-7843
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located on Route 421, The Clarion Inn & Suites provides the full-service facilities, attentive services and social atmosphere that make it easy to connect with work colleagues, friends and family. You’ll find meeting and event space, catering, well-appointed rooms and a casual restaurant and bar. We offer a wide range of supportive amenities as well. Clarion Inn & Suites is five miles from Lake Michigan. Crawford's Pub & Eatery, provides room service and banquet catering. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are also minutes from the Clarion and offer a great way to spend a day in beautiful LaPorte County, IN. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. After a busy day, come back and relax in our full-service restaurant, Crawford’s Pub & Eatery, or order room service and enjoy a meal from Crawford’s in the comfort of your own room. Our complimentary hot breakfast will help get you started in the morning. The Oasis Pool & Spa area is open daily. We would be glad to help plan your wedding reception, family gathering or corporate meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Clarion Michigan City
Holiday Inn Michigan City
Clarion Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing