We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Custom 12 foot dining table with sea shell chandelier
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Kitchen
Custom 12 foot dining table with sea shell chandelier
Dining for a crowd in style
Second Dining Table (Seats 8), around the corner from larger table
Living Room with Large Sectional
Living Room View to Dining
Master
Master Showing Walk-out Balcony and Day Bed
Master Bath
Beautiful Second Floor Queen with Crib and Two Closets
Beautiful Second Floor Queen with Crib and Two Closets
Second Floor Queen
Second Floor Queen--Room Also has Desk and Printer
Second Floor Bath with Soaker Jet Tub and Shower
Main Floor Bath with Tub/Shower Combo
Fun Third Floor Bedroom Comfortably Sleeps 4
Third Floor Bedrooms with Trundles Pulled Out
Basement Bunk Room
Basement Rec Room
Large flat screen tv in basement
Basement Bath with Tub/Shower Combo
Back Deck and Guest House (Jester)
Jester Living Room
Jester
Jester Kitchen
Beachwalk Resort
Pool
Pool on Shores of Lake Kai
Custom Sandcastle Playground
Fishing Pier Off Interior Lake Kai
Boardwalk to Lake Michigan
Lake Michigan Beach
Beachwalk's private beach
Skyline Sunsets
Washington Park Lighthouse with Chicago skyline at sunset
Aerial photo of Beachwalk with Lake Kai, Lake Michigan, and beautiful dunes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Michigan City, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gourmetga...
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Exceptional. Our stay at Sun King was exceptional. Everything we could ever imagine they provided for us. The rooms are spacious very comfortable beds large dining areas and comfortable seating areas. A short easy walk to Lake Michigan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnkwas
Palos Heights, Illinois
1 review
“A great weekend”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a beautiful place. A reunion of 6 couples and the accommodations were excellent. Spacious and fully equipped. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect for our wedding shower with the extended family!”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family rented this beautiful cottage for my wedding shower in April - it was perfect!

We had 10 kids under the age of 7, and they loved playing in the huge basement. And the adults loved it too! (We're a big ping-pong family, so having a ping-pong table was a huge win for us). The kitchen has plenty of space and is wonderful to cook in. The dining space easily sat 20 people, and the dining room table was so cool! All the furniture looks and feels brand new and seems to be custom built.

The whole first floor is open, which is great for games. Anyone in the kitchen could still feel that they were part of the group in the dining room!

The bedrooms and bathrooms sparkle. Despite being such a large space, the house also manages to feel incredibly cozy and warm. I couldn't recommend this highly enough as a place to spend a week with the family. Every aspect of this house is stunning.

Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry M
Michigan
1 review
“We loved Sun King, and we are already counting down the days to the next annual trip!”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a great time!! The house was very accommodating, there were 18 of us all together, we had plenty of room. We enjoyed the fireplace, and had a blast playing ping pong! The dining room table was great for playing cards, games, and eating, there was room for everyone.

We went down to the beach yesterday and took some pictures, we couldn’t have asked for better weather for the first weekend of February.

Everyone was very happy with the house and wants to stay again for the annual event. We are counting down the days to the next annual trip!!

Thank you for sharing your gem with us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica D
1 review
“We're planning a second stay already!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My friends and wedding party stayed here and they are still raving about it. We are even talking about renting the house again next year so we can all get together again. The house had everything you could ask for: ample space, entertainment, great outdoor space. It was a mix of people so not everyone knew each other but by the end of the weekend, they were all the best of friends. How could you not be with fooseball, ping pong, a fire pit?? My only wish was that my husband and I could have stayed there ourselves! Though we did spend quite a bit of time there :)

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
“Excellent Home!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a group of 23 people. Our group comprised of mostly teenagers and staff. This home provided plenty of space for all of us to enjoy a few days away. We watched movies, played cards and games as a group. We had plenty of space to prepare meals and eat together. The home is wonderful! The neighborhood is charming, we had a great time using the pool as well as going to the beach. We took the train into Chicago and the station is only a few miles away from the house. There are plenty of grocery store options in driving distance. Overall an amazing home and great location. The teens we were with can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The set up of the home was great for our group. The Jester provided a great extra space.
Liked least: I cannot think of anything.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everything.
Liked least: The narrow roads.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing