We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Nice Stay"”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our stay was nice here. This was a reasonable price for just a one night stay. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. Hot breakfast was tyical, but ok. The breakfast area was a bit on the small side as well but was clean. My son loves to swim so we spent a while down in the pool area, the pool area was very very humid and a bit on the small side. Would stay here again if needed. :)

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor, it's quite and away from the pool and the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachfan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    97
    62
    19
    20
See reviews for
129
81
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed recently for our first time to Blue Chip based on reviews. Beautiful facility by pictures and on the exterior. As always. .I check beds etc. The bathroom looked fine until you read below, the room did as well til I opened the closet and the floor was filthy. I turned down the first bed and there were several hairs all over the sheets and pillow cases. I turned down second bed and didn't see anything til I pulled up the top sheet. That's when I found hair of different color and texture. I went down to front desk and the man basically belittled my complaint. I asked for gloves and clean sheets. The clean set he handed me even had a hair in the fold that I immediately pointed out and it was still a joke to this front desk person. I changed the sheets myself and took both bed linens back to the front desk. The next morning I went to pull the shower curtain shut after starting the shower and on top of the curtain was a dirty dry washcloth.
.. We still had the 4 sets of hanging clean towels with washcloths on the rack. A day later, I left a message for the manager regarding my complaints and have yet to hear back. Needless to say. ..there are other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is very unfortunate to see the cleanliness of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Every time my husband and I are in Michigan City, we stay at this hotel for a number of reasons. First off, the price is very reasonable, surprisingly so for a Saturday night. Also as important is the fact that it is meticulously clean. The beds are very comfortable, they give you plenty of pillows plus an extra one in the closet. There was a decent spread on the bed and another blanket in the closet. Believe it or not, we've stayed in other Michigan City hotels where there is no blanket on the bed! 2014 is the coldest winter in 35 years. Go figure. Not everyone likes the heat cranked up to 75 while they sleep. I also liked the fact that you can open the window to a certain point for fresh air. Flat screen TV, worked fine. The bathroom was very clean (with a bathtub - we had a handicap accessible room) and the water pressure was good, not just a trickle from the shower head. Kudos to the cleaning staff! Breakfast was also included: hard boiled eggs, some type of egg patty, biscuits and gravy, hot oatmeal, assorted mini muffins, yogurt, bread, and waffle machine. I liked the fact that the orange juice was real orange juice and not watered down orange drink. A welcome change. There is an indoor pool on the first floor and small whirlpool. We did not use either, but it's nice to have the option. Parking is no problem either. This is a real find.

Room Tip: We personally always choose the top floor at the end of the hallway. We are light sleepers so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife, daughter and I, along with our friends and their son had a great stay at the Country Inn & Suites (michigan city) this passed weekend. The staff was great, the pool was nice, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Thanks again to Sarah at the front desk!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmichael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you had a good experience overall. Our team appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff at the desk as well as in housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. Checkin and checkout was smooth and efficient. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was included and was fresh and good. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outdoorgal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Michigan City, Indiana on New Years Eve 2013. We booked it June because the Hotel at the Blue Chip Casino was completely booked for New Years Eve in June. We were pleasantly surprised for a couple of reasons. First the hotel is very nice, up to date with excellent amenities including an in room fridge larger than most mini-fridges plus a small microwave. Did not expect either. Also has a very nice pool with a hot tub for just relaxing. New Years Day they provided (included in room charge) a very nice breakfast spread including make them yourself fresh waffles that were great! Possibly the best surprise was finding out that our $77.95 Priceline .com rate was about 1/3 what they were charging for a New Years Eve room. Highly recommend the Country Inn and Suites if you are planiing a trip to Michigan City (or northwest Indiana/Chicago/South Bend) and definately book well in advance through Priceline for an great guaranteed rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you had a good experience overall. Our team appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel frequently for business and decided to bring my family on this business trip. The entire staff was gracious and professional. They always have a kind word and bend over backwards to make the visit as comfortable as possible. The rooms have always been clean and relaxing. The Tv, refrigerator and air units are in excellent condition. The housekeeping staff are professional and accommodating. The breakfast is always better than expected and have always enjoyed my stays. A special thanks the the GM, Mr. Sharma and to Louise for making it An enjoyable Christmas Day in the hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Address: 3805 Frontage Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Michigan City
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Country Inn Michigan City
Michigan City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing