We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a good stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have stayed here often as we drive to Chicago and it is a good place to stop. Lighthouse Outlet Mall is a good draw. This time, there was a strong smell of chlorine, they must have been cleaning the pool. Otherwise, no problems. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good price.
Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.


Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    97
    62
    19
    20
See reviews for
129
81
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We did not have a reservation so we received a king bed (2 adults) and sleeper sofa (2 teens). The bed was very comfortable and the sleeper sofa was a sleeper sofa. The room was clean and fresh when we arrived. At check-in I was not impressed with the front desk staff and the next morning someone attempted to enter our room. Luckily we had the lock catch set so they unlocked, opened the door and were unable to enter. It was early so I did not step out into the hallway to see if it was housekeeping. Continental breakfast was just that...cereal and yogurt were the best options. The breakfast staff was very attentive and the breakfast room was clean and re-stocked quickly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed front desk staff issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!


Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business. Lots of restaurants nearby, and Walmart right across the street for any essentials you forgot to pack. Pool & hot tub looked clean, but I didn't take the time to use them. In room wifi was great. large room with decent sized TV, full size sofa, refrigerator, desk and king bed. Front desk staff was very attentive and friendly, and even called up to my room about 45 minutes after arrival to make sure the room met my expectations and see if there was anything I needed. My only complaint was that the lighting in the room was mismatched compact fluorescent lamps (some were daylight color-very unattractive, and some were warm white)
Breakfast was included and was standard free buffet fare, which I found completely satisfactory. There were a good variety of breads and muffins to choose from, plus eggs, sausage and waffles. Several juices, coffee and milk were all fresh and available.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lightinggrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was very pleasant and conveniently located. The rooms were large and comfortable and quite clean. It had a nice swimming pool, plus a refrigerator and microwave in our room. The front desk person was friendly and helpful. However, this price was a bit steep: $126 with tax (it was Friday of Memorial Day weekend, so perhaps that's why it was so expensive). The walls were also very thin and you could hear other people easily. Also, there were a couple strands of hair in my bathroom that weren't mine. Would probably stay here again, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolclimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croswell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday nights. We had a King Suite. The bed was very comfortable but the couch wasn't even that comfortable to sit on let alone sleep on. We needed the couch for a sofa bed but she just slept on the couch instead of making it a bed because of discomfort. Room was ok. A bit outdated for clean. The pool and hot tub felt wonderful. The free breakfast was very good. Waffles, sausage and biscuits, fresh fruit, yogart, oatmeal, etc. I would stay here again but not plan on using the sofa bed couch as a bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I am sorry you were not thrilled with everything. Our team appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Staff makes the difference, they are wonderful at making you feel welcome when on the road, close to the freeway, close to shopping and dining. Clean and quiet. Simply awesome, the breakfast is great and if you are in a hurry the have a breakfast to go ready for you. They truly care about taking care of their guests here and are great at what they do.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sag45877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have never been to Michigan City so decided to spend the weeked here. The staff were extremely helpful, Molly and Andrew. Molly helped us with suggestions of where to eat when I asked her for her recommendation. Had lunch at Lindo's and it was realy delicious food! Andrew later called us to check that everything was OK! We did not want an expensive hotel, so this was exactly what we were lookng for, comfortable, clean rooms and wonderful staff. The breakfast was good too, choice of yoghurt, oatmeal porridge, biscuits and gravy, waffles, muffins etc.... Would stay there again!

Room Tip: We always like the top floor (third)- no stomping above us :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsabe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Michigan City. We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in the future.

Sincerely,

Roger Sharma
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City, Indiana
219-879-3600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Address: 3805 Frontage Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Michigan City
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Country Inn Michigan City
Michigan City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing