We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast. Best hotel in the area, great value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    92
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
124
77
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Overall a good experience. Close to the highway, restaurants and shopping. Kids liked the pool, and we all loved the free breakfast. We found the room and common areas clean, and the service friendly. The only negative for us were the inconsiderate people in the next room allowing the door to slam. We were trying to get an early night, and they must have allowed the door to bang shut 60 times. It was brutal. But we called the front desk, and they took care of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saultites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you had a good experience overall. We appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here on july 5 with my wife. The staff was very helpful and professional. We had a one room suite which was very comfortable and quiet.The room was very clean and modern. The Inn was easy to access off of I-94. Would definitely stay there again when passing through.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinn1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you had a good experience overall. Our team appreciates all of the reviews we receive, and we hope that we can accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I am sitting here at 2:45 a.m. and very uncomfortable because there was a bug on my curtain that I was unable to kill, it ended up on the ceiling or it has a partner who is stalking me. I am a female and alone so no 'male hero' to handle it. They need to spray and they need to fix the sink in this room on the second floor. The water runs down sooooo slow and it is a double bed room. What if I had my family with me, the sink would be a major problem and filthy by the time we all used it. The housekeeping staff obviously does not report plumbing problems. Other than that it is a clean hotel and a clean room, the beds are not the best, but for one night my back will survive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HisDaughter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Country Inn. The room was a nice size. The hotel was clean every where. I like a little something warm for breakfast and they delivered that every day. The elevator broke one day and was fixed really quickly. Free cookies available most of the day. The only think they could improve on is a little warmer water in the inisde pool as far as I'm concerned but the kids in it seemed very pleased. I would stay here again and again. If they turned up the heat on the pool I might just move in ha ha. Walking distance to Culvers, less than a block to Walmart and Damon's restaurant and within 4 blocks to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gochenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

THE GOOD:Clean rooms,nice staff,Clean pool,nice hot tub.Ok location.
THE BAD:Beds are on the hard side.The Breakfast is over by 9:30am & is mediocre at best(we went out for breakfast)There is alot of door slamming during the night.Garbage dumpster outside was overflowing and garbage all over the ground.Internet service was down the first 2 days we were there(Comcast was working on it)The "fresh baked" cookies,are not fresh baked.Small pool(but clean)
THE UGLY:...PILLOWS SUCK !!! Bring your own pillows,or you will regret it.Feather pillows with NO support at all...DID I MENTION THEY SUCK?

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows,they suck !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rather-be-camping911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel while on a road trip. Comfortable beds. Room was clean. Nothing fancy. Breakfast consisted off oatmeal, cold cereal, waffles, eggs, sausage, bagels, bread, yogurt, juices and coffee. They ran out of oatmeal and had to make more but it wasn't cooked enough in the second batch. Good stop over hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler_3_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Address: 3805 Frontage Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Michigan City
Country Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Country Inn Michigan City
Michigan City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing