We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, churlish owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryon Farm Guest House B&B
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, churlish owner”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

The guest house is lovely and the setting is lush and beautiful. We spent three nights here and enjoyed the space. The owner/operator was unsmiling, curt, and frankly rude. We hope/assume that she was dealing with a personal issue, as it detracted from an otherwise lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryonFarm, Owner at Tryon Farm Guest House B&B, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Personal service at a small lodging property like ours enables us to easily recall our previous guests. We had the pleasure of hosting this guest in July of 2009, almost two years ago. I regret that we didn't fulfill our motto: "People will forget what you said, but they will never forget how you made them feel." We are serious about the business of hospitality and while our pet policy is usually reserved for dogs and an occasional cat, we happily provided typical lodging for two pet rats traveling with this guest. We want visitors to feel accepted, appreciated, and cared for at all times and will continue to strive to meet that objective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Everything about the place was wonderful. The breakfasts were 5 star. Absolutely scrumptious. Claudia couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. We will definitely be back to explore the warmer season amenities. The trails, outdoor bath, labyrinth, the very cozy and romantic attic just to name a few.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathykoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We have stayed at Tryon Farms several times and always treated very well with special requests granted without hesitation. The breakfasts are a special treat, and we often get the recipes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam124536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was not a warm atmosphere. The host did not make us feel like we were special guests. We were the only minority couple there and will not be back. We asked to ride the bikes that were on the property and Claudia questioned us like we were toddlers
(Relax were not gonna take them) bottom line breakfast was good just not your normal variety (fruit and rolls yummy). If you are looking for friendly service I would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank triciaoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TryonFarm, Owner at Tryon Farm Guest House B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We regret that your experience did not meet our standards of personal and attentive customer service when using our complimentary touring bikes. The most important thing about our business is our relationships and connections with our treasured guests. We apologize, if we failed with you in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent our wedding night at Tryon and just returned for our first "family vacation" with our 4-month old. We were a little hesitant to bring an infant to a B&B but our son was welcomed just as we were. Everything about the guest house is perfect for a peaceful get-away and we are planning on visiting in each of the seasons in the years to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Location was good and room was clean. Minor complaints include the fact that there were 5 in our family and only 4 cookies in the cookie jar (which was not refilled during our stay). Also there was no bottled water available and there was a fridge in the kitchen that was for guests, however the only thing in it was ice tea. A few snacks and something other than ice tea to drink would have been a nice touch that would have made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had a lovely 2 day stay at this quaint and charming farmhouse. The proprietor, Claudia, is a wonderful source of information and history for the local area. Her breakfasts and chocolate chip cookies are also first rate! Service could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
2.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
586 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
7.5 mi away
Arbor Hill Inn
Arbor Hill Inn
#1 of 3 in LaPorte
141 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue Jay Manor
Blue Jay Manor
#4 of 8 in Michigan City
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryon Farm Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryon Farm Guest House B&B

Property: Tryon Farm Guest House B&B
Address: 1400 Tryon Road, Michigan City, IN 46360-2264
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tryon Farm Guest House B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tryon Farm Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing