We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Sawyer, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

My friends and i live about 1 hour away and were looking for somthing fun to do in the area when we decited to say here overnight. They remodeled/put on an additon not too long before our say so we were expecting a fun little get away. Little did we know what we were in for. After arriving, we had no problems checking into our room and enjoyed a nice dinner. After, we decited to go down to the pool and enjoy the hot tub. After going down the elevater, walking what felt like a mile through the hallway, past the casino, through another hallway and down a SECOND elevator, we finally saw the pool. It was only slighty larger than out bathtub, and was holding about 20 LOUD kids. They had two small hot tubs, which were unexpectedly quite pleasent. However there was no changing room by the pool or towels to dry off with, which would have been nice since we had such a long journy back to the rooms. The room was quite nice, with a floor to ceiling window overlooking a water chanel which i assumed went out to Lake Michigan. The beds were quite comfortable and the bathrooms was very spacious and had a lovely glass shower. The Hotel offered wireless internet but when trying to connect it would not, and after the THIRD time we called (each time they told us to try something different) they told us we had to go down to the lobby and 'rent' an ether cord. They had vending and ice on every floor but when we our 2 dollars in for a soda, it gave us nothing back and the front desk told us instead of giving us our money back, we had to call the number on the machine and they would refund it. Really??? Overall, the room was nice but the staff were very unknowledgable and i was expecting much more for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anie_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianmcdole, Online Marketing Representative at Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our guest rooms. However, we were disappointed to hear that our service and pool area did not meet your expectations. In reading about your challenges with our Front Desk staff, these comments have been forwarded to our Hotel Management team to address and correct immediately. We were also concerned about your impression of our pool area. Although it is just one of the many entertainment options we have available at Blue Chip, we do recognize that it can be an important element depending upon your interests. Although we do not offer specific space for changing due to the fact that the pool is restricted to in-house guests only, we do have nicely appointed restrooms with three stalls in each. We also provide towels at our pool for use so that our guests do not need to bring terry from the guest rooms. The fact that there were no towels stocked is yet another concern. Our Housekeeping staff has the pool area as part of their regular rounds to ensure that the towels are stocked and the area is in good condition. We also include the pool in our Security rounds for safety reasons. Your comments have been forwarded for addressing with both teams. If you would please forward your contact information to us at bluechipmarketing@boydgaming.co, we will have our Director of Hotel Operations contact you directly regarding your specific concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    211
    116
    80
    55
See reviews for
102
294
33
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FREMONT
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Spa room was very clean and comfy! Clear day and could see Chicago skyline. Buffet was alright for dinner. Casino was very crowded(and smokey) after about 7:00. It was a holiday weekend so didn't know of that was normal for a regular Sat. night. Outlet mall was worth the time away. We will surely look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The driving directions from the hotel's website took us 1-hour out of the way. The old half of the hotel where we stayed [ no rooms available in the Spa Tower] does not offer 5-star accommodations as suggested on the website, only 2-stars at best. The beds were two-doubles, not the two queensize beds requested. The mattresses were also very uncomfortable. The bathroom had no tub. Housekeeping pulled the covers up to the pillows instead of making the beds. I have stayed at Radisson and Holiday Inn with much better rooms for a quarter of the price. The price is not comparable to the quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookinSista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Twin Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My wife and I decided to travel from Michigan to stay at the Blue Chip Casino for 5 nights to celebrate our honeymoon. We are young, (mid 20's) so we were looking for a fun, exciting time. Little did we know, once we got their we where welcomed by a rude, snotty, self centered girl at the front desk. We were told our room wasn't ready yet, so we would have to hang out in the casino, our find something to do for a couple hours till our room was ready. Our room was clean upon arrival, but it seemed as each day went by the cleaned less and less each day. The last day we were there they only emptied the garbage!!!! They didn't make the bed, (which was hard as a rock and hurt our backs!) didn't give us new glasses for drinks, or paper coffee cups, no towels, didn't vacuum, didn't do a thing. Every time my wife called the front desk to ask a question about their services she as belittled and talked to in a rude manner. Also, the pool was tiny, and the hot tubs were dirty....The Casino is another thing all by itself. It is small, ran down and it is Government ran!!! So do you think the odds of winning are is better??? hahaha yeah right. we went down to the casino every day and i have never lost money so quick, we both never hit anything bigger than what we bet... In five days, my wife and i only came across one guy who won any type of cash at all ($1,800.00). I talked to around 20-30 people staying there, and all said the same thing... "they just cant win anything". I personally don't trust our government, they take ALL!!! and give NOTHING back!!! so I would rather take my chances and gamble my money in an Indian Reservation Casino any day. (there is a really nice one 15 minutes North in New Buffalo, Michigan.) called Four Winds Casino. Do yourself a huge favor and take your money there. Better chance of winning, nice new casino/resort, and a friendly environment....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Hondaman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I LOVED this hotel! Very classy and very private! The room was super clean and decorated very nice! I love being this close to a casino! Which by the way is an awesome casino!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ashj_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I decided to spend our anniversary at the Blue Chip. Our first time there so we had to pay full price for the room. We had a room in the older tower and didn't think it was worth the price we had to pay. The shower was huge but had mold on the floor in the corner. Looks like there may have been a tub there at one time that was removed and is now a big shower. Could see the light from the hallway when the door was shut as if it didn't quite fit. The hallway was very noisy and could hear everything. The casino got very busy as it was a Friday night but I didn't mind because it made me feel good that the economy isn't all doom and gloom as we are led to believe and that people are spending money. That IS good news. There was a line at the Steakhouse so we did not eat there, but the buffet was ok. Casino had ample space to walk between rows of slots unlike some we've been to. All things considered, it was a good time and we would definately go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gambler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Great rooms, service, and breakfasts. Thurs-Sat rates are unexpectedly higher than quoted rates for this hotel. My advice to hotel - just tell people that rates are higher on weekends. It'll go over much better when people check in. Overall, it's great and the Spa is pretty good. Yes, the area needs some economic stimulation. However, they have great restaurants on Franklin. Went to eat pizza at Albano's. Wow!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa

Property: Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Michigan City, Indiana, we operate northern Indiana's leading regional entertainment destination – Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Our latest expansion, completed in January 2009, added 302 upscale hotel rooms; the Stardust Event Center, capable of seating up to 1,200 people for live performances; the 10,000-square-foot spa blu, the only spa located at a Chicagoland casino; and two Las Vegas-themed restaurants, "It's Vegas, Baby!" and "The Game.”" In addition, Blue Chip offers a 65,000-square-foot casino with nearly 2,000 slot machines and 50 table games. Whether you're just coming for the day or looking for a fun weekend getaway, Blue Chip offers a gaming and entertainment experience without rival in the Midwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing