We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!! GO NORTH 15min. TO "FOUR WINDS CASINO"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My wife and I decided to travel from Michigan to stay at the Blue Chip Casino for 5 nights to celebrate our honeymoon. We are young, (mid 20's) so we were looking for a fun, exciting time. Little did we know, once we got their we where welcomed by a rude, snotty, self centered girl at the front desk. We were told our room wasn't ready yet, so we would have to hang out in the casino, our find something to do for a couple hours till our room was ready. Our room was clean upon arrival, but it seemed as each day went by the cleaned less and less each day. The last day we were there they only emptied the garbage!!!! They didn't make the bed, (which was hard as a rock and hurt our backs!) didn't give us new glasses for drinks, or paper coffee cups, no towels, didn't vacuum, didn't do a thing. Every time my wife called the front desk to ask a question about their services she as belittled and talked to in a rude manner. Also, the pool was tiny, and the hot tubs were dirty....The Casino is another thing all by itself. It is small, ran down and it is Government ran!!! So do you think the odds of winning are is better??? hahaha yeah right. we went down to the casino every day and i have never lost money so quick, we both never hit anything bigger than what we bet... In five days, my wife and i only came across one guy who won any type of cash at all ($1,800.00). I talked to around 20-30 people staying there, and all said the same thing... "they just cant win anything". I personally don't trust our government, they take ALL!!! and give NOTHING back!!! so I would rather take my chances and gamble my money in an Indian Reservation Casino any day. (there is a really nice one 15 minutes North in New Buffalo, Michigan.) called Four Winds Casino. Do yourself a huge favor and take your money there. Better chance of winning, nice new casino/resort, and a friendly environment....

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Hondaman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

I LOVED this hotel! Very classy and very private! The room was super clean and decorated very nice! I love being this close to a casino! Which by the way is an awesome casino!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ashj_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I decided to spend our anniversary at the Blue Chip. Our first time there so we had to pay full price for the room. We had a room in the older tower and didn't think it was worth the price we had to pay. The shower was huge but had mold on the floor in the corner. Looks like there may have been a tub there at one time that was removed and is now a big shower. Could see the light from the hallway when the door was shut as if it didn't quite fit. The hallway was very noisy and could hear everything. The casino got very busy as it was a Friday night but I didn't mind because it made me feel good that the economy isn't all doom and gloom as we are led to believe and that people are spending money. That IS good news. There was a line at the Steakhouse so we did not eat there, but the buffet was ok. Casino had ample space to walk between rows of slots unlike some we've been to. All things considered, it was a good time and we would definately go again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gambler1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Great rooms, service, and breakfasts. Thurs-Sat rates are unexpectedly higher than quoted rates for this hotel. My advice to hotel - just tell people that rates are higher on weekends. It'll go over much better when people check in. Overall, it's great and the Spa is pretty good. Yes, the area needs some economic stimulation. However, they have great restaurants on Franklin. Went to eat pizza at Albano's. Wow!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmajere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Chip for the first time on June 23, 2010. Our room was a vailable when we arrived early. We did not get the new spa section, but that was cool since we got a fair rate on the room.
The room itself was clean and very comfortable for 3 people. It was not a 5 star by any means, but we were still very happy with it. The beds were more comfortable then most hotels.
One thing that I must say is that every staff member that we talked with was very pleasant and helpful. We never had one complaint with any of the staff members.
The only down side to the the old section of hotel is that it is pretty far from the casino. Other than that we really had no complaints. The casino was great. They have some of the better dealers that I have seen.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sigs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed in the Blue Chip Tower---shoved into a smoking room rather than a non smoking---Guest services said they try to honor requests thru Expedia but ran out---never offered to move us to a non-smoking room for next 2 nights. Room was dirty. Very spartan compable to budget hotels. Asked guest services for towels 1 night ---They came and just threw 2 towels down didnt take dirty ones----

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank covingtonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We are Michigan City residents, we were given a free overnight stay based on our play. Rooms were very nice - small fridge, was great to keep grandson's milk in. We also went to the pool area - grandson enjoyed it. We did not eat at any of the restaurants. We played a little that night, did not win big - just a little to play with. My husband doesn't like Blue Chip, he thinks they don't treat MC residents like out of towners. If you like a nice room, while in the area, they are very nice, in the new tower.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie46360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa

Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: $89 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Michigan City, Indiana, we operate northern Indiana's leading regional entertainment destination – Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Our latest expansion, completed in January 2009, added 302 upscale hotel rooms; the Stardust Event Center, capable of seating up to 1,200 people for live performances; the 10,000-square-foot spa blu, the only spa located at a Chicagoland casino; and two Las Vegas-themed restaurants, "It's Vegas, Baby!" and "The Game.”" In addition, Blue Chip offers a 65,000-square-foot casino with nearly 2,000 slot machines and 50 table games. Whether you're just coming for the day or looking for a fun weekend getaway, Blue Chip offers a gaming and entertainment experience without rival in the Midwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing