We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“43rd Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I wanted to have something very special for my wife for our Anniversary and Claudia was fantastic! Ate at the Steak House and it was great. Room was very clean and the staff in and out of the Casino was extremely friendly. I know we will go back again it was truly a great experience.

Room Tip: We had the Suite it was better than we expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 647 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

First Class establishment. The blue chip has it all: original and new hotels, shopping, multiple dinning options, huge casino with slots that hit and a world class spa. They have really cheap rates midweek in the $ 70 range. So if you are retired or having a leisure day off this is the place to be where you can really: shop,dine, play and relax. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable

Room Tip: If you like looking at wildlife ask for a view of the harbor you can see geese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chariece r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Steak house was the best food I've had in ages, the service was out of this world!! Alex at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating!! The room was quite large with an amazing shower!!! The casino was fun too!! I would go back and try out the pool (didn't bring our suits)!! Great little night away from home!! Brenda Yourcandlequeen.com <3

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yourcandlequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Always nice, friendly people, easy to access, good parking, good security, always feel save, and there is someone there to help with any questions, problems. Nice buffet, nice selection. Steak house, excellent. Nice pool area. Spa is very nice - not able to use on this visit. I will most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cplake1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was top notch, the rooms were very clean and had all the modern conveniences you would want, everything from the bathrooms with great pressure on the showers to the large screen TV. The room was very quiet. I had a room that overlooked the lake so it was very relaxing to sit in the room and look out the window. The windows in the rooms were floor to ceiling which made the view and the light that came in the room awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hartman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I'm not sure where to start here, but just don't stay here...

First, we reserved a Solara King room, non-smoking in the Spa Blu Tower. We reserved online and put 4 guests. We are 5 - 2 adults, 2 children, 1 infant. This room has 600+ square feet and we thought it would be good to have the extra space so we wouldn't be crammed in there like sardines and wouldn't have to hang out in the bathroom after the kids went to bed earlier than us. But when we checked in and requested a cot for the kids, they said not only could this room not sleep 4, and that a cot would be a fire hazard. And that the couch doesn't have a pull-out for anyone to sleep on. Why in the world does it let you book that with 4 and not be able to accommodate even that many? Do they really think anyone would sleep 4 on a king bed?!?!

So we were reassigned to a 2 queen bed room with less than 400 square feet. Somehow that room, while much smaller with 2 queen beds and a crib rolled in there was not a fire hazard. Make sense of that...

Then came the towel issue. There were 3 towels in our room upon arrival. We asked for more so we could all have our own towel. They said we can only have as many towels as there are people in the room and even fought us on giving us that many. Call it overkill, but we shower at night and in the morning. We had taken a flight into the area so were certainly showering in the evening. Then, we shower in the morning to wake-up. The towels don't dry overnight so we wanted towels for the morning as well. We were read the riot act about not getting anymore towels. After repeated conversations and much yelling, 45 minutes later someone finally delivered enough towels for us for that day.

The second day (and mercifully our last day there), we started with 3 towels again and the battle ensued once again. This is the most ridiculous thing. Just give your guests some towels! What is the big deal? They are too poor quality for anyone to consider taking home with them if that is their concern. Just let your guests be comfortable and clean and dry and not have to share towels with one another. If you are going to be put out financially by letting your guests have enough towels, then there is a problem.

Finally, the smoking there. Really, smoking? Get with the times and make all rooms and areas non-smoking! Everyone knows that where there are smoking sections, there then becomes no such thing as non-smoking sections since it seeps everywhere. Even at breakfast in their little cafe there was a smoking section. Come on!

I don't have an alternative suggestion on where to stay since I don't know the area, but just don't stay here. You will be so frustrated with this place's absurd policies that it will drive you crazy in a smoky haze.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DRtrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second time staying here, was here last for the opening in 2009. Was surprised that hotel looked very much the same, very clean, no signs of wear or tear, kept up remarkably well. Rooms were very nice, modern furnishings, clean bedding, nice sized bathrooms. Stayed in the spa tower, which is the newer hotel. Only complaint was that the pillows were hard. Staff was friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank designdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa

Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360-2422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: $87 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Michigan City, Indiana, we operate northern Indiana's leading regional entertainment destination – Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Our latest expansion, completed in January 2009, added 302 upscale hotel rooms; the Stardust Event Center, capable of seating up to 1,200 people for live performances; the 10,000-square-foot spa blu, the only spa located at a Chicagoland casino; and two Las Vegas-themed restaurants, "It's Vegas, Baby!" and "The Game.”" In addition, Blue Chip offers a 65,000-square-foot casino with nearly 2,000 slot machines and 50 table games. Whether you're just coming for the day or looking for a fun weekend getaway, Blue Chip offers a gaming and entertainment experience without rival in the Midwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing