We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nothing to rave about. Its a casino! Smoky, loud and filled with senior citizens who will not give up their machines for a fire! Strongly recommend the Four Winds a few miles away in New Buffalo. Spa Blu is fantastic though! Event center is ok. Staff seemed overworked and tired.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Blue Chip Hotel in Michigan City, Indiana. I requested a room in the new Spa Blu Tower and was not disappointed. The hotel not only met my expectations, it exceeded them. The room was super clean; the bed was very comfortable, and the view was exceptional. I also had a great dinner in the steakhouse. My only complaint was my lack of luck in the casino, but the hotel has no control over how people roll the dice at the craps tables. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in the Spa Blu Tower because of previous reviews I read on this website. I didn...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cosybully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We are both emerald players so the accomadation extended to us are always top. This casino is always attentive to your needs and security is great. We also like the fact that there are many things to do in the area. It is a half way point for our familys when we are in the area and it proves consistanly to be a great choice.

Room Tip: say in the spa towers but the old hotel is a great value
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

just happened upon this hotel as we stopped to see the dunes which were right down the street from this hotel. We got a beautiful king room in the pool tower for $105 . our room was great it was huge a king bed, very comfortable, shower was clean and large tiled separate from the sink and mirror. We had dinner in a cafe and split a roast beef sandwich and fries which was delicious and more than enough for two adults. The pool was great large and they had two hot tubs although they were really hot but nice. It was a good stay. The Casino was great we did not win but they have a poker room with texas hold em $1-$2 which my husband loves and plenty of poker machines for me. It was as nice as the ones in Vegas and much closer to home we are from cleveland, ohio area. This is a great weekend vacation and i would reccomend it to anyone,.

Room Tip: i am not sure where we stayed but it was the pool tower and it was really clean and nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cinamingrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have visited the hotel and casino many times. My husband and I live in middle MI. We have always enjoyed our stays. It's far enough away, but not too far.
We have always had a clean room,requests answered immediately and have never ran into any rude workers.
When calling for reservations, we have never had a problem.
After staying in the spa tower, we are spoiled. The older hotel rooms really do need make-overs.
Our Blue Chip Hotel and Casino stays have always been a good experiance. (that does not mean, we always win in the casino)
The only thing I can think of, the buffet is quite expensive. If you don't eat alot, it's hard to pay that much for a meal.
,

Room Tip: Stay in the spa tower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I thought we would get a luxury break here for a few days but luxury was not in sight!Room was small and bed had only two sheets on it no duvet. Tv remote was like the ones you buy in a dollar store and although the bathroom in the spa tower was nice it had no bath and very cheap toilet paper. Nothing luxurious about it!Even the clock radio didn't work! Having a hard time figuring out how this hotel got 4 stars!We have a 6 month old and the crib they provided for her was a death trap. Will not come back here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Digital Marketing Managet at Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointment with the product quality you experienced at Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Your concerns with the cribs we provide as an amenity have been discussed with our Housekeeping Manager for inspection and replacement. As the Director of Hotel Operations I would welcome an opportunity to speak further about your visit to our property. I can be reached by calling our toll-free number at (888) 879-7711. Again, we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve our service levels and overall guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my niece here for a weekend get away for her birthday. We stayed in the Blue Chip Tower which must have been in the older rooms. The room was pretty small, but clean and comfortable. I did ask for a roll away bed, never got it. That was ok because the room was small. Had a view that was overlooking the marina. Actually saw several large fish in the water.
The shower was pretty big, no tub. I had a problem trying to adjust the shower head, but maybe that was because I am short.
There was a power outage at the hotel. The casino went dark for a while, maybe 3 minutes. I was on a limited income so only ate at Nelson's Deli. The food there was really good. Prices were reasonable considering how food you got. Big portions.
Employees were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle ride from the train station to the hotel was good as well. I will book another trip, but will stay in the new tower.

Room Tip: Try the newer tower.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler50chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
9.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa

Address: 777 Blue Chip Dr, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City, IN 46360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: $89 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Michigan City, Indiana, we operate northern Indiana's leading regional entertainment destination – Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa. Our latest expansion, completed in January 2009, added 302 upscale hotel rooms; the Stardust Event Center, capable of seating up to 1,200 people for live performances; the 10,000-square-foot spa blu, the only spa located at a Chicagoland casino; and two Las Vegas-themed restaurants, "It's Vegas, Baby!" and "The Game.”" In addition, Blue Chip offers a 65,000-square-foot casino with nearly 2,000 slot machines and 50 table games. Whether you're just coming for the day or looking for a fun weekend getaway, Blue Chip offers a gaming and entertainment experience without rival in the Midwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Chip Hotel Michigan City
Blue Chip Michigan City
Blue Chip Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing