We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in snowstorm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Stuck in snowstorm”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Grabbed it for under $60 on Expedia. Was a desperation stop in a storm. Hotel room smells musty, is marginally clean and has they motel feel to it. Look, if you need a bed to crash and find it cheap enough, it's passable. That's about it! On the plus side wifi was fine and there is a fridge and microwave.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank irlundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    4
    22
See reviews for
7
9
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I tend to prefer name brand hotels when on the road, but we decided to give this one a try and we were very pleased with it. Overall, we found that it was cleaner, and with better amenities, than a budget brand name hotel that might cost 20% - 30% more (Microtel, Red Roof etc). Internet was quick, environment was quiet, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you're driving through the area, and need a place to stay for the night, you can feel very confident staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was unsure about this hotel because of all of the past reviews but let me tell you, it is a great place. The room was clean and updated. The staff was friendly. The ice machine was broken but the attendant said that it was in the process of being fixed as well as adding snacks to purchase at the front desk. The gas station is across the street and there is a fridge in the room. There was no odor to the room whatsoever. I will be back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mommy2lexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You pay what you get.....you've been warned!

The WORST thing about the room I stayed in was the smell. It was very musty and had to go to the local CVS store and buy Febreeze. After giving it a spray for a couple of times and letting the fan run constantly, it was a little more bearable.

Some good things....bed was ok and shower was good.

Could only get a few channels, satellite was "always" looking for a signal.

Housekeeping staff never vacuumed, found dead bugs and dirt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel

Property: Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel
Address: 3934 Frontage Rd, Interstate 94 Exit 34B, Michigan City, IN 46360-9264
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel offers comfortable accomdations just completely renovated in 2013. Hotel offers in all rooms Fridge/Microwave, Cable Television with Free Showtime, Spa Inspired Bathroom Ammenities, In-Room Coffee, Iron & Board, Plush Mattresses with Triple Sheeting and plenty of outlets around the room for charging electronic devices. Entire hotel also has fast and free wireless internet powered by a dedicated High Speed Fiber Optic Line. King Rooms include larged desk area and all room include. Our hotel is located with an on-Site Bob Evans Family Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Inn Michigan City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing