We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked ahead on expedia and arrived late in the evening on a very hot day. We would have switched hotels but had no other options at that time.
Room did not have fridge and microwave as promised. Smelt of urine.Dirty tub and soap skum in soap dish. Black mould in bathroom. Room not vacuumed. We got a few hours sleep and got out of there as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brunsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Red Roof Inn Michigan City Indiana, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that corrective measures have been taken to assure that Red Roof Inn standards are being met.

Beth Rozone,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

After a long day on the road, we found this reasonable rate and decided to give it a try. We do not usually stay at this chain, but other choices at this interchange were much higher priced. The room was fairly clean and even though was designated as a non-smoking, it still smelled of a smoking room. Thank goodness I have learned to travel with Febreeze!
The room was adequate in size, and the beds were comfortable. The ice machine was not working so I had to get ice at a hotel next door. Coffee was available in the lobby at all times, but no breakfast items offered. There are lots of choices for eateries, fast food, etc. We had breakfast close by that morning, gassed up, and we're on our way. No frills, but just ok overall.

Room Tip: You can ask for a free upgrade to a king room. We asked but all were taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRLZHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that your non-smoking room smelled of smoke and the ice machine was not working during your visit. We have sinced resolved the issue with the ice machine and are continually trying new products to ensure all non-smoking rooms do not smell of smoke.

Again we appreciate your review and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travel plans permit.

Beth Rozone,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Not at all like pictures. Room had bad musty smokey smell. We would of left but needed to stay the nite somewhere. Please pass this place up... This place needs a remodel..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Red Roof Inns are built to a specific standard, and this location meets those expectations. Convenient location, clean simple room, suitable for an overnight stay on the road. Sandwiched between other businesses in a congested area. The Texas Corral restaurant is adjacent to the property, and dozens of others just down the road. Wal-Mart and Meijers supercenters within a couple of blocks.

It's a pretty straight shot into downtown and the beach, but traffic moseys along very slowly! Not really a criticism, but be prepared for a leisurely pace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Arrived here after a 10 hour drive, and immediately was greeted by a smiling face at the front desk. It's a nice motel, with clean rooms, and very well layed out. I drove around the building once, as I had seen some local riff-raff in the front, and noticed the empty rooms in the back. Even after booking throung hotwire, we had a nice selection of rooms, and we chose 236. Only thing wrong...... only one iron in the entire motel. Not a huge concern, but it would have been nice to have a couple. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: You want a room around on the left side, somewhere on top, like 236.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I guess this is just an old motel. Paint chipping, stained carpet, old mattresses. The worst part was we paid for a non-smoking room, and were given a room that smelled terribly of smoke. They had no other rooms to give us, and wouldn't refund or discount our reservation because we made it through Hotwire. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed in better.. Bad smell but clean enough for me not to check out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Michigan City, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Address: 110 W Kieffer Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9276
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range: $54 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For shopping, gaming, or just enjoying the beautiful beaches, come to Michigan City. Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Blue Chip Casino, and Washington Park Beach are all within 5 miles of this hotel, while unique Indiana State Dunes are just 10 miles away. The excitement of Notre Dame University is 40 miles away, so come and enjoy. This Non-Smoking, Newly Renovated Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Selected rooms at this Red Roof offer a microwave and refrigerator - a nominal fee may apply, please inquire. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing