We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok place”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a family trip. The hotel is new and its very nice. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The service isn't so great, we had no soap, shampoo or anything of the sort. Nor any washclothes and were told that there weren't any clean at the time. I refuse to believe that there were no clean washcloths clean in the entire hotel. Also for the continental breakfast was down at a quarter after 6 and the only thing there was coffee so if you want to get on the road quickly be prepared to go hungry. Not a bad hotel just lacking in service.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeskneesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    314
    154
    57
    30
See reviews for
382
295
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2010

the hotel room was actually nice, small but very cozy with new furniture.
Staff not very friendly at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picasso49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Microtel Inn and Suites is newly opened and provided us with the best accommodations we've ever had in Michigan City. Its decor is sleek and simplistic, done in warm earth tones. The check-in/check-out process was quick, with friendly staff who were helpful with anything you needed. Our room was large enough to be comfortable, with a 32 inch flat panel wall mounted TV. We also had a mini refrigerator and microwave, which came in very handy, and a very comfy window seat was a nice added touch. We found the beds very comfortable, each having three large, fluffy pillows on them. The bathroom was standard and was totally clean, as was the entire room. Another nice touch is a cabinet with a mirrored inside door that serves as a closet. There is plenty of room for your luggage and space for hanging your clothes, as well as several drawers. The complimentary breakfast was good and varied daily, from french toast strips to scrambled eggs with potatoes, plain scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy. They also had several juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, English muffins, Danish, blueberry muffins, cereals - both hot and cold - milk and coffee. We were told waffles are sometimes served, but were not during our stay. There is a pool and hot tub, which we enjoyed using and an exercise room that we should have used but didn't! I'm hoping when we stay here again - and we definitely will - that things are as perfect as they were on this first visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurtherOnDownTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My family came to Michigan City to visit the beach! This hotel was great! It was in walking distance to Walmart and other places! It was too hot to hang out at the beach the first day, because the beach ws closed due to EColi. we just hung out at the hotel and went swimming. The pool was great! The rooms were little but nice! The beds were comfy. I loved the window seat above the air conditioner. It gave us plenty of room! The staff was very friendly and employye walked to the pool to get a message to my husband for me! Very good hotel and staff!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tdawn_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed here because of the good reviews the place got on TripAdvisor. I thought it was just ok, though -- nothing spectacular. It is a new hotel and is quite clean. We stayed in a single queen room, which was very compact. Soundproofing wasn't very good, though, and noise really carried between rooms and from the hallway. They offer a free breakfast, which was really spare -- fruit loops or raisin bran, a few powdered sugar doughnuts, and bread and bagels. There was one apple. The "hot" water for tea was lukewarm. I don't expect a lot from free hotel breakfasts, but they really could put just a smidgen more effort into it.

This place was ok for a night, but I wouldn't want to stay for several days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shall07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This location has been open for less than a year and still smells new. Service was excellent and friendly. Their breakfast was the best we have ever had at a microtel. They even had a waffle maker. While it was slightly more expensive than most other Microtels that we have stayed at, it was still less than most of the other motels in the area. We only wish that all the other Microtels were as nice as this one is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegascouple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed a couple nights. What a bargain! Whole place was spotless with excellent service. Hope it holds up, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubsholycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing