We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean but small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“clean but small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent one night here it was clean and it was a great value, just hard to adjust after so many nights on the road and use to much larger rooms at other name brand chains. Only down side was room size in comparison

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Derfire,
Yes, the single queen that you stayed in certainly put the micro in Microtel! There is no doubt about that but that is only 7 of our 68 rooms. So that's the good news, next time book a double or a suite and you will find they are quite large and comfy for a road warrior such as yourself. We appreciate your feedback and invite you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    295
    145
    56
    26
See reviews for
356
286
45
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good stop on route to Chicago. Friendly greeting and did not need to see CAA card which gave us an extra 10% discount. If you just need a sleeping spot for shopping at outlet mall it is perfect. Close to highway. Shower head definitely needs replacing. Cost under $70.00 with tax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Catherine B,
Thanks for sharing your insightful feedback with our future guests, for the record though, the AAA card is supposed to be shown at check in, looks like you caught one of my staff breaking the rules...uh oh...they are going to have to go to time out for this! Thanks for staying and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

the queen room is small (it is a 'micro'tel :) ) but it definitely worked fine for us and with all there is to do nearby we didn't plan to stay in the room much at all. It was very clean with contemporary decor and quite comfortable. We had a minor issue with noise in the hallway which when mentioned at the font desk was immediately addressed with customer satisfaction as a priority. We really appreciated that.
We arrived a little early and although the hotel could not accommodate an early check-in (our responsibility not theirs) the front desk manager made sure we had maps, booklets and coupons for surrounding attractions while we waited....and kept our luggage for us. (they also held our luggage after check out while we went to the Dunes.) Very nice service.
Breakfast was both hot/cold with fruit and oatbars.
We found the rate to be competitive....if we were to return to the area this hotel would most definitely be on our list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing