We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For non smoking hotel, the marjuana order through the stay was VERY UNPLEASANT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    314
    154
    57
    31
See reviews for
383
295
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLOTTE
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel after being informed that our place to stay prior wasn't going to work out. The rate was great! The hotel was great! Our room was perfect! Although there is space between the heater and wall that made the wind come right through. Staff could have been easier to get a hold of. The pool and hot tub were perfect! I was beyond pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Paul H,
Thank you for sharing your insights with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham in Michigan City. Michigan City's newest hotel, conveniently located only minutes from the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets, Blue Chip Casino and a short drive to the Indiana Dunes State Park. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very Clean. Safe. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Close to the freeway. Easy to find. Lighted parking. I arrived late and there was no problem. Walls are a little thin; I could hear my neighbor's TV. I would definitely stay again. Paid $65 pre tax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Richard M,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I bought this discounted room at the Microtel on groupon. We thought a night away and finishing up on the Christmas shopping was an excellent idea:) When we got to the Inn, we were warmly greeted and given our room key. The suite was very nice. I really liked the modern decor. It was warm and inviting! The breakfast was also very good with enough seating for all. I did have one major problem with the Inn. In the night I awoke to the smell of smoke and I am not fond of that smell, never mind the fact that I have asthma. My husband smelled it also. I am not sure if it was because our door did not shut sufficiently and people were coming in smelling of smoke or if the employees, upon taking their breaks, smoked somewhere near the building where the smoke permeated our room. The beds are awesome but I did not sleep well because of the smell and woke up with a headache. Again, it may be because of the location of our room, but I was not a happy camper! The Inn is very nice. I hope this doesn't deter people from visiting the Inn but if you do not like cigarette smoke, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mrs. Matt B,
We sincerely apologize for the problem you had with the smoke smell in your room. Although we pride ourselves on being a smoke free hotel, some people still choose to break our rules and for that I am sorry. I do hope you will contact me on your next visit to the area so I can make this situation right for you and in the future please feel free to alert the front desk agent if someone is smoking, as a rule we evict people who smoke in our hotel and we could have moved you as well. I do hope you will give us a second chance and look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived late in the night and the customer service specialist was so cheerful and caring! She provided the absolute best customer service and put us into a very nice room.

We only stayed 1 night. Our room was very clean. The pool is small but looks nice. I used the gym which had 3 pieces of cardio equipment. I was in there alone so I didn't mind the minimal equipment.

Breakfast was also included-pretty nice spread of waffles, pastries, cereal, juice.

Overall it looks like this hotel has a great team for a successful operation-good value, customer service, and housekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear T Gram,
Thanks for the review and thanks for staying with us. I agree with you, the fitness center could be a bit bigger but surprisingly it really doesn't get very much use. I am pleased to hear you were treated well by our team and we are gratified to hear you liked our breakfast as well. Please tell all your friends and family and we look forward to taking great care of you the next time you stay with us. Please have safe travels and great days between then and now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 16 in Michigan City
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing