We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always stay here”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My family and I travel from DC to Iowa quite a bit. We also have family in Michigan City so we've been doing the hotel thing there for quite awhile. I was thrilled we then they built this hotel. The rooms are a decent price, very comfortable and cute (if that's possible) They all have window seats, fridges, and microwaves. The pool is nice and it's a convenient location to restaurants, shopping and a few miles from the beach. We stay here whether we are passing through or staying for the weekend. The only thing I don't LOVE is that breakfast is small...but it's free so you can't complain to much. They also have good military rates!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeskneesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    322
    166
    62
    33
See reviews for
407
301
48
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City. We were pleasantly surprised by the fresh but neutral hotel decor, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We have never stayed with this chain before but will look for Microtel hotels in other cities we visit.

Room Tip: No newspapers at desk as of 6/11; bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParentalAdvisory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Our room was very nice, new and clean, with a large refrigerator, and reasonably priced. The free breakfast offered a nice selection,

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendlocalfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We had a reservation at another hotel that didn't work out. We came to Microtel and Patrick took excellent care of us setting us up with a great room and offering ideas of what to do in Chicago. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast had a great variety.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My fiance and I wanted to get away for the weekend so we went to Michigan City. This is a great hotel with a great location. It looks like it's brand new. It was very clean and our room even had a kitchenette which we weren't expecting. The continental breakfast was pretty good and there's a waffle machine so you can make your own waffles. The hotel's location is right by all the restaurants in the area. (We ate at Texas Corral, and wow.. it was great!)

If you're visiting the area, especially Blue Chip, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughnhospitality, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Staying at the Microtel was an excellent experience. The hotel is clean and very accommodating with a staff that cares. The desk clerk I encountered was so sweet and helpful. Thanks Microtel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughnhospitality, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Michigan City, IN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My friend and I had never stayed at a Microtel before, but saw the price and decided to give it a try. I'm glad we did!! The hotel was brand new and in a GREAT location near restaurants and shopping areas. The room itself was REALLY nice, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of the pool or hot tub, but did see it and it looked nice.

We would definitely stay here again this coming summer on our planned trip back to the Lake Michigan shore!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrshicks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughnhospitality, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future so that you can experience our indoor pool and hot tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Michigan City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
3.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
#10 of 16 in Michigan City
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360-2910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing