We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor conditions for both the animals and the visitors.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Park

Washington Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampico, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor conditions for both the animals and the visitors.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were looking forward to having a zoo on our family vacation to visit with our 6-month-old and 2-year-old. However, we were greatly disappointed with several aspects of this particular zoo.
1) There were many exhibits that were closed or without animals.
2) The types of animals were less than exciting.
3) The animal enclosures were in disrepair and very small. I'm not an animal rights activist-type person, and yet I was appalled at the size of the enclosures (for 3 tigers in one) and the conditions (the macaws couldn't have their enclosure.
4) It is not very stroller friendly (or handicapped friendly for that matter). The hills were steep.

I would never suggest this zoo to travelers unless desperate for something to do. It was a disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank thjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    87
    16
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Browning, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soooo relaxing and kid friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this beach 2 out of the 3 days we were in Michigan City. Spacious and very nice beach for kids. Who needs the ocean when u have beaches like these!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmiller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Spend Some Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the first time I had been to Washington Park. For the price of $7.00 parking, you could spend the day at a very clean beach. I was there on a Thursday, so it wasn't crowded. Try it, you'll probably enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank InnyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Washinton Park - Michigan City, Indiana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A city park and beach, right on Lake Michigan, that holds a host of Summer activities, festivals, in-water boat show, world-class power boat race on the lake, music (jazz, blues, gospel, rock, etc.) all Summer long, capped by an early Fall festival closing out the activities. The city in fact has a Summer-long festival plan (see Michigan City Convention and Visitor's Bureau Website), which includes Washington Park as well. While there is a fee for parking ($6 last year, all day long), the park is friendly to both residents and non-residents - unlike some of the city and town parks along the Long Island Sound in Connecticut and the East Coast.

Bring a picnic cooler, frolic on the beach beach, attend the many festivals, visit the vintage lighthouse connected to the park, or just "chill".

All in all, a very pleasant way to spend a Summer weekend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
369 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely setting in Michigan City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Washington Park has so many fun things to do with the fantastic beach, band shell, zoo, lighthouse museum, etc. It's a great resource for the community.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Park also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing