We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel In Michigan City/Northwest Indiana overall”

Washington Park Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Washington Park Zoo was founded in 1928, encompasses 15 acres on a hilly sand dune close to the lake, and is home to more than 200 animals. It is owned and operated by the City of Michigan City, Indiana.
East Chicago, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel In Michigan City/Northwest Indiana overall”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What an awesome collection of various species from around the world...presented so nicely in a wandering walk through the park. Best part is the view from the tower...worth the extra effort to get to the top! Lions and tigers and lots of things that make it fun and educational for the kids and adults alike!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaPerdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    77
    29
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sad experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were hoping to really enjoy our day at this little zoo, but it was very sad. The animals are in tiny enclosures and seemed very miserable. The emus were desperately searching for some grass to walk on and some shade, but were having no luck. We left much earlier than planned because it was just too depressing. I hope our admission payment goes toward enriching the lives of these animals!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LLautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Beach, MI
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A sad little zoo”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a small zoo with a limited and seemingly arbitrary collection of animals kept in old-fashioned cages. The kids might like it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We absolutly loved this Zoo! It was only about $5 to enter plus parking. They have a drink cup you can buy for about $3 and the refills for the season are only $.50!! Plus the zoo is the perfect size, not to big or to small just a nice quick fun day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have two young children and these small zoos are perfect for them to walk around. I hadn't known that it would be so hilly which made pushing the stroller a little harder, but that's just part of being a mom! The children loved that they could see the tigers and other animals up so close. Being a small zoo allowed my children to keep going back to the animals they liked the best without having to walk so many miles like at bigger zoos. We spent less than 2 hours there, but it was well worth the money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoFruitSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Park Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing