We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent plan B scenario”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pickle & Turnip - CLOSED

The Pickle & Turnip
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This was a cuisine find! Everything was delicious and home made!
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An excellent plan B scenario”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We tried to go to Panini Panini, but the line was just too long, so we implemented plan B and walked across the street to Sahara. I had the business lunch special which includes gyros, falafel, chicken tawook, rice and a greek salad. Plenty of food which also included pita bread and hummus. My only disappointment was the Greek salad, which lacked kalamata olives and feta cheese. I thought the rice was exceptionally tasty, with just the right level of spice. In summary a lot of great tasting food that was reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just_A_Bubba_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porter, Indiana
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great flavor, mediterranean food to please the senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

went out for lunch with friends, business lunch special is a real treat with a little of everything, gyro, falafel, chicken tawook, rice and greek salad. After eating this your tastebuds are satisfied. great place to grab a lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EARLY, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sahara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

You have probably never had food like this.
I know I never have.
Cuisine from around the world and these folks know how to prepare it. I think.
Everything I had was DELICIOUS and it was stuff I have never had before.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rich66Early_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You need to eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Bottom line is....you have to try this place.
Wonderful food. And as silly as it sounds the tomatoes in my entree were fresh flavorful locally grown, the the thick tasteless ones that restaurants usually serve you. Attention to little details that make this a great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thekauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise--great Middle Eastern food in Michigan City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Driving from Holland, MI to Chicago, found Sahara on Yelp. A bit of a drive off I-94, but well worth it. Had the Falafel, humus, baba ganoush, Spanakopita. All were top notch. Salad dressing, pomegranate-molasses, was especially tasty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhoHearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickle & Turnip also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing