We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al & Sally's Motel
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
$133
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cool Springs Inn(Michigan City)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Michigan City(Michigan City)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Michigan City)
$59
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
13
19
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
19
3
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 39 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband stopped in at this motel and asked for the price of a room. He was quoted $65. We left and discussed if we'd be able to stay there for the night. We returned less than an hour later. The owner recognized us, but then said $65 wouldn't cut it anymore. He's raised his price to $75 due to "lower quantity, higher price." We counted only 3 cars in the parking lot at the time. Surely he's joking. As he leaned back in his chair with a smug look, he assured us that noooo his price had gone up. Needless to say, we left immediately to give our money to a REAL mom & pop motel that has REAL service. We avoid hotel chains for the hometown service provided at small motels. The owner of Al and Sally's let his arrogance send good paying customers right out the door... Down the street to the Blackhawks where a friendly owner gave us a room for $60 plus tax.

Stayed: July 2012
6  Thank Fennec07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANEGMENT, Owner at Al & Sally's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Al & Sally's Motel Inc.
We operate on 16 Rooms that none off them is the same.
When costumer is searching around for best rate may find himself paying more just because driving around takes time and the room that was available an hour ago may not be available now.
We encourage Our costumers to see the room first than if You can't Check inn right away please make a reservation.
Thank You for taking the time and point out very important fact .
We can improve based on Your reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Old rooms with old decor from the 60's and loud, drinking neighbors.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EAY1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just stayed at Al & Sally's again and had no complaints. Again it was very quiet except for the occasional train which quickly rumble through every couple of hours. Bedding, bathroom, carpeting and towels were very clean. The couple who run the motel recognized us from before and gave us a friendly greeting. The pool is a sparkling blue from a recent repainting and the owner was out there every morning cleaning off the leaves and checking the chlorine. There is free wifi that provided a "fair" to "excellent" connection in our room as well as for some distance around the building. I sat out at a picnic table under shady trees every morning checking the news and my email on my laptop every morning. It is only a few miles from major state and national parks with beaches, dunes and wetlands trails. Is it a fancy or luxurious place? No. But is it a perfectly adequate and comfortable motel, especially for what we paid for it? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vercingetorix16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We just spend the weekend at Al and Sally's and found it clean, quiet, and a good place to stay for the money. The reviewer who wrote the extremely negative review clearly has an axe to grind--I believe that they're either a competitor or they have some other ulterior motive. The hotel they described bears no resemblance to the motel we just left this morning. Al and Sally's is run by a cheerful young couple with kids who recently bought it. On a Friday afternoon we got the last available room so it is clearly popular. The bathroom was clean and modern with new tile and fixtures and a very nice new shower stall. There was a new larger than usual fridge and what looked like a new window air conditioner. The motel is located ten minutes from the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore beaches, and we constantly went back and forth from there throughout the weekend. The walls are cinderblock both interior and exterior, making the place surprisingly quiet, though no doubt we were fortunate to have quiet neighbors too. There's a nice little pool in back which was constantly occupied by kids and their parents. There are active railroad tracks that run maybe 200 feet away, but there's no stop there so the train never blows its horn. I'm a light sleeper and had no problem with the occasional train. My only small criticism is that the bed could have been better--it was a little uneven. But I slept very well there. You can park your car directly in front of your unit which is really nice. We're planning to go back in a week or two hopefully.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vercingetorix16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Left hotel at 2am - didn't feel safe to stay. Probably should have called the police. In addition it was extremely dirty. Terrible smells. We had read some reviews online that made us think this could be a cute & reasonable-cost motel. It ended up costing us more than we expected and the owner was not helpful at all when we called to tell them we didn't feel safe & left at 2am and drove home. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 3crystald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANEGMENT, Owner at Al & Sally's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Al & Sally's Motel Inc.
Just like the name says this is a Motel,
Together with my Wife we operate and live in attached house.
So if there is an issue , we can deal with it right away .
If You call next afternoon than No You want get Your money back.
Unfortunately We don't offer a free stays, also thanks to your review we decided to not accept pets.
Thank You for Your input .
Based on our Costumer reviews We can improve how We operate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews