We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant in Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxines - CLOSED

Maxines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went there for our birthdays. The service was great and food delicious. I had the crab cakes and while not as good as a Maryland crab cake it was very good. They had a jazz group playing so gad a very nice atmosphere. Reasonably priced, good wine and menu selection.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife here for her Birthday while visiting Michigan City. This is the best restaurant in downtown. The food was excellent and the staff was attentive and friendly....ask for Patricia as your waitress. They had an excellent jazz trio the friday night we were there and with a lively crowd, it was a great experience. Try the medallions tournedos and if they have it, the quail appetizer....exquisite

Helpful?
Thank njpirate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The last time we went there we were very disappointed. It was a buffet for a holiday and the food was not hot, was not readily replenished and was very blah. We may try it again, because when we have ordered from the menu, it was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BEETOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food here was wonderful and fantastic Martinis.The server was very attentive and explained the menu and specials to us .Very good value as well.well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My $30 steak arrived late, scorching hot, appearing to have just exited the microwave, while the veg was Luke warm. My wife's 'special' was the same. We had to wait 45 minutes for our food in a near empty restaurant. Chef Ramsey required!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxines also viewed

 
Michigan City, IN
 
Michigan City, IN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing