We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal at Maxines”
Review of Maxines - CLOSED

Maxines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Western Springs, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious meal at Maxines”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I went for the specials on a Monday. I had the chicken paprika, which had a plenty of chicken and gnocchi - really good. He had the Danish meatballs, which had pasta with a tasty sauce. Both were wonderful. Neither were overcooked. Our server, Melissa, was attentive and cheerful. She happily gave us her suggestions. Both dishes came with a green salad which was also good but had no tomatoes which I like in the summer. The only thing I didn't care for was the bread. It was very dry and crustless. I would definitely go back. The ambience was great. Loved the beautiful painted walls!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy3617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic find!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I've been coming to Michigan City for about 12 years and let's be honest - not too many choices of fine dining near the highway. Some co-workers found Maxines and took me there and I was very impressed by this place. It was German night so I ordered one of the specials and had way too much food (something I did not complain about). The appetizers, entree and dessert were absolutely wonderful - I had to take some home i couldn't eat it all. My co-workers have returned a few times and I look forward to another trip there in the future.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
510 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“OK dining...”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was at one time the best place in Michigan City. It's now just OK and nothing special.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Maxine's consistently good”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We have eaten at Maxine's repeatedly since finding this gem of a restaurant about 8 years ago. The menu is an odd mix of many different cuisines, but, the food is always well-prepared, and, the service is attentive and genuinely friendly. Add the fact that the bartender actually knows how to make a good cocktail and you have everything you could want in a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewmkw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday dinner!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband had the best escargot ever followed by the ultimate steak tartar of his culinary dreams. I thoroughly enjoyed their signature lasagna with complimentary salad. Our waiter, Kyle, was knowledgeable about the menu, wine selections and quite attentive as well. The bartender served up 2 perfect martinis-appropriately icy, with just the right touch of Vermouth. We look forward to our next trip to Michigan City and dinner at Maxine's!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celestestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxines also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing