We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst I have ever been to.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Duneland Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Michigan City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duneland Beach Inn
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst I have ever been to.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Duneland Beach is a restaurant/ bar with rooms above it not a B&B! We heard nothing but pans banging below in the kitchen and rowdy bar people. No common area -our TV did not work the bathroom so small in the captains quarters my knees stuck out could not close the door. We asked when it would quite down they said 10 PM. at 10:30 we left could not take the rude loud bar patrons. We asked for a refund, no manager or owner to talk to. They will not refund our money the owner took a week to email me back. I cant even begin to discuss the bad service. Overpriced.

Room Tip: read these reviews- plan not to stay in your room -get out and go the the casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elwalt2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not a B&B, but a country inn. A inn by definition serves meals and has a restaurant on property. Perhaps you were looking for a smaller, quieter place to stay. Because we are a small inn, we apologize that expanded cable isn't available in the rooms but only the lounge. The restaurant offers people a place to get together to have fun and sometimes we realize some of our new guests have a different expectation. We are sorry you declined our offer of a full refund and instead chose to stay and did not have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    6
    14
    8
See reviews for
9
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Il
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

When I called for info and to discuss my reservations etc I was not impressed with the folks that answered the phone. The rates are high but it is all about location and they have it. Our room was small but we didnt spend a lot of time there. Dinner was nice outside and I loved my fish. Yes the drinks are pricey but I am use to that. The private beach is awesome! I do recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keekeechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We decided to have our Easter family dinner at this establishment, what a major mistake that was! The food was average at best, the prices were high and the woman who owns it, Kay, I believe, couldn't be more arrogant and stuffy in nature! We miss Kelli's table and are looking for a nice owner friendly place to spend our money and time at! Shady Creek Winery is the only place we call home! Don't waste your hard earned money at time at Duneland Beach Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Easter Dinner.I would like to address your concerns. Regarding "overpriced" your family of 12 guests enjoyed Easter dinner off the menu, not a buffet, for $25.33 per person. That is not unreasonable for Florida grouper flown in fresh and prime rib dinner including soup or salad which most of your table ordered. We are fortunate that our guests return annually for Easter, Mother's Day and Thanksgiving. Yours was the only complaint and it wasn't about your meal. As for being arrogant, I tried to be very discreet to whisper to your lovely wife (so as not to cause embarrassment to you in front of family members) that you are not allowed to bring in your own food. The health department does not allow it. It's not arrogance; it's integrity. I take the responsibility seriously to ensure all our guests receive the best food and service available while maintaining compliance with local health regulations. Again, we are sorry you were disappointed with us. Our customer satisfaction is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Michigan City hotels

Valparaiso, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Driving around the area when we stumbled upon this place and decided to stop for a beer or two; good thing we only had one round because they charge $10 for 12 ounce bottle of a craft beer which usually goes for $5 per pint at most fine pubs. Will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HoosierTravelMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Guest Relations Manager at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello HoosierTravelMaster and thank you for your review. You are correct. Some of our craft beers are expensive. My guess is you chose a Dragon's Milk or a Hopslam? They are $10. Our neighborhood bar is small and doesn't afford us the room for beer on tap. Please look at the whole picture. We are not a pub nor a brewery where you can get some excellent brews in a growler. We try to offer our customer's of whom many are from Chicago, unique albeit sometimes pricey, unique craft and seasonal beers that are difficult to come by in our area. Our domestic beers are in line with other restaurants in the area. We offer Gumball Head and other Three Floyds products which are in great demand. Have you been to restaurants near Three Floyds Brewery? Most of the menus are MP (market price) for Gumball Head, and they have it on tap! Back to the small bar, we only have room for 14 beers so we try to make the most of it. We sorry if we gave you sticker shock. Next time you are driving around, stop by and we will buy you a Chimay Blue..$16 on the house. Hope to see you soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Husband, daughter and I went early on a winter Sunday and we were one of only 2 tables the whole time. It would have been nice to have more of a crowd, but the service was excellent, food great and atmosphere just lovely. The cocktails were pricey, but delicious: perfect Makers Mark Manhattan. We had a few small plates like Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip and Seared Ahi Tuna, and enjoyed them all. We plan to try their new Winter Prix Fix dinner tonight. Three courses are $22 seems like a good way to try this beautiful restaurant one more time. We live in the area so have not tried the Inn itself, but highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRobert831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Owner at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Although open all year, our business is seasonal. If you would like a little more buzz, try us on a Saturday night or any day during the summer. We appreciate your remarks and the opportunity to offer you the unique ambience the Inn provides us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were here for a Friday evening through Sunday Morning stay.

I have to admit I became a bit skeptical after reading previous reviews. When we arrived we were greeted by staff which promptly checked us in. We stayed in the room named 'Captain's Quarters' and were pleased. Yes, it has some 'unique characteristics'...a strange triangular toilet area that was JUST big enough & some of the outlets didn't work. But the Jacuzzi and open concept shower helped offset any 'issues'. C'mon, it's a bed and breakfast in an old building people! You can tell the owners have REALLY tried to make the best of space when remodeling.

We started with martinis in the bar and met some locals who were great conversation. Later we moved to the dining area which is decorated beautifully. Food was appropriate for the venue which we enjoyed and the staff was attentive.

Saturday morning breakfast was solved with a short drive to Rosie's in New Buffalo. Sunday morning brunch was awesome and was included in the stay. All we paid for was the Bloody Mary's which were delicious.

Probably the best part of the stay was the location. It's located in a beautiful residential area blocks from the beach. Very quite at night with great places to walk in the morning.

Is it perfect? No. But we can honestly say, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Wi-fi is weak on the outer rooms, but privacy increases. It's a trade-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunelandbeachinn3311, Owner at Duneland Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello Craig,
No we are not perfect, but your review certainly is! You have captured all of the things that we think makes the Inn a special place. The people that come in are amazing and it is so gratifying to see everyone having such a good time. Our regulars have often tell us they feel it is their duty to make newcomers feel welcome. Yes, there are more negative reviews than positive. But, we serve over 20,000 dinners per year and occupy more than 2,000 nights in the inn; and in comparison the complaints are few. Unfortunately, we have learned that a very small number of people don't intend to pay the minute they walk in the door and choose to hold the establishment hostage with social media. If we detect someone is having a bad experience, we try to resolve the situation anyway that we can. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived without a reservation on a Saturday night with very high hopes based on the recommendation of a local, the charming exterior and the packed parking lot.

I wouldn't really call this restaurant average, nor would I say it was poor...but it was definitely somewhere in the middle.

There were two young ladies at the hostess desk--neither of whom could be bothered to greet anyone, smile or be helpful. While the bar area was busy, the dining room had only a few tables occupied. Despite that, we were seated at a small table in the corner that was situated directly over an HVAC duct and pumping out FREEZING cold air. The staff clearly knew this was an issue as they had attempted to cover the duct with a menu, however, it caused one guest to sit in an uncomfortable position so as to not disturb the menu and not end up with popsicle legs.

Like another reviewer, our table was approached by a mute teenager who gave us both two of the smallest pieces of bread known to man and then disappeared without cracking a smile or offering a greeting or response to ours.

The menu was SMALL but looked like it had promise. So much for looks. Our appetizer (fried buffalo mozzarella) had no taste or seasoning whatsoever and was accompanied by the smallest drizzles of sauce imaginable.

My husband had the lamb shank which was completely undercooked, tough and under seasoned. It also was the scrawniest lamb shank I've ever seen. I wish I could tell you what I ordered, but despite us having visited recently my entree was completely forgettable.

Our server was nice enough, but couldn't answer even basic questions about preparation methods etc.--and didn't offer to find out!

The entertainment for the evening was when another table got rained upon from an over-flowing bathtub upstairs.

We were hungry, so we ate our meals and left very disappointed about the entire experience.

We would consider coming up from the beach to grab a drink due only to the nearby location, otherwise, there is no way we'd come again or recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
4.0 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
9.2 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.5 mi away
Blue Jay Manor
Blue Jay Manor
#4 of 8 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duneland Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duneland Beach Inn

Property: Duneland Beach Inn
Address: 3311 Pottawattomie Trl, Michigan City, IN 46360-1039
Location: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away one block from the private beach, Duneland Beach Inn is a private getaway located near gaming, shopping, and wineries. There is a casual fine dining restaurant & bar on the first floor offering some of the best cuisine in the area, ice layered martinis, and wines from around the globe. The circa 1920's Inn offers eight well appointed guest rooms on the 2nd floor which was long ago offered 21 rooms with a shared bath. A great place for a couples getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duneland Beach Hotel Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing