We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Atmosphere, Lacking on the steaks”

Gino's Steakhouse of Merrillville
Reserve with OpenTable
Gino's Steakhouse of Merrillville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 154 Restaurants in Merrillville
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Whitestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Service & Atmosphere, Lacking on the steaks”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited Gino's for the first time last night, and we were really looking forward to it. The Atmosphere was nice and the service was excellent, but the steaks just weren't up to par to the name of "Steak House" 3 of us ordered the bone in Rib Eye, and 2 ordered the premium dry aged Rib Eye. One of the premium bone in Rib Eyes, didn't have a bone. In all 5 cases, the steaks had a lot of gristle and were on the tough side with not a lot of flavor. Dessert was excellent, but the main reason we went was for the steaks. One other issue was that at the end, when the check came, a 20% gratuity was already added. The issue is not the amount of the gratuity, as we were very pleased with the service, and would have done 20% anyway, but that the decision was made for us. I know on large parties restaurants sometimes add the tip, but there was only 5 of us. We called the restaurant the next day to ask about the policy, and asked for a manager. It turns out our waitress was the manager that came to the phone. If your looking for a place for drinks, appetizers, & dessert this is a great place, just watch the check at the end. If you're looking for a good steak, (our steaks ranged from $37 to $49) think about making the trip into the Chicago, you could visit Chicago Prime, Ruth Chris, Rupert’s, Morton’s, etc, and enjoy it a lot more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    26
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

While passing through the area we elected to stay in Merrillville. We spotted Gino's and thought we would give it a try. What a wonderful experience! We didn't have reservation on a Saturday night and we expected a long wait. We were seated at the bar and enjoyed a cocktail and very good live entertainment. After a brief period, we were escorted to our seats. Our server was excellent and he explained the evening's specials. My wife ordered the lamb shank and I had the aged prime rib. They were cooked to perfection! All in all it was a very pleasant evening. The prices are commensurate with the quality of food served. We will definitely be going back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak House in Merrillville Iniana”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went on line to look at review's for Gino's Steakhouse, and if you go by the review's you truly be misled,Our 1st time going for Sweetest Day, and ''Oh My God'' was not dissapointed at all.The food was the best, and the service,just as good. Very upscale and well worth the price,I honestly did not think that anyone could beat or even compete with Ruth Chris Steakhouse, but i'm so glad that i can go not even a mile from my home to the best diner in Northwest Indiana!!!!!!!! Will Continue To Go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced but pleasant”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fine dining but a bit pricey especially on the "specials" Portions were large but not excessive. Would have rather had a smaller portion at a smaller price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneseeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Steak House in Merrillville!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The food is excellent. Haven't had anything that I didn't like yet. If you go always ask for Brian, Brooke, or Kim. Great waiters and waitresses to assist you with your meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's Steakhouse of Merrillville also viewed

 
Merrillville, IN
Merrillville, IN
 

Been to Gino's Steakhouse of Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing