We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Englishman in Merrillville loves Courtyard marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Sheffield, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Englishman in Merrillville loves Courtyard marriot”
Reviewed November 22, 2006

The Courtyard Marriott is ideally located on route 30, just off of I65. You can actually see the hotel from the Interstate. It is easy to find, just behind the Star Plaza, which is always a bonus for someone who doesn't know the area too well.

It is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is an in-door pool and a small fitnessroom. In the summer the pool extends outside around which is a small sun terrace. This overlooks a pond feature surrounding which are pine trees and gardens (not exactly a nature trail) but pleasent enough.

There is no restaurant but there is a very good buffet breakfast available. The restaurant is not really an issue as there must be 100 places to eat along Route 30. The marriott has free coffee available all day and snacks in the evening at reception. There is no bar but there is an excellent Irish bar at the Star Plaza, which is a 10 min walk away for us Europeans or 2 mins by car for you Americans.

For business the Marriott is ideal whereas for family pleasure The Star Plaza is probabily more suitable as it has a huge themed pool area which attracts hordes of kids.

All in all I think the Court yard Marriott is excellent without being over pricey and I will deffinately stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishman_Abroard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    61
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
30
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie PA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Stayed at the Courtyard while in town for a wedding. First, what the hotel can't control, the weather was bad. Rained the whole time. So this made one of the nicest features to the Hotel, the backyard landscaping, not a factor. I did walk out back to see it, and if the weather would have been nicer, it would have been very enjoyable.

The lobby is very warm and appealing with a natural gas fireplace that you can sit by. It has a small resteraunt off of it. Did not eat there any, so no advice about it.

The swimming area was crowded 3 out of the 4 times I looked at it. If the weather had been nicer, the outside part of the pool could have been utilized and it would have been ok.

The exercise room was a little claustrophobic, but had 2 treadmills, a stair stepper, a bike, and free wights. All appeared in nice condition.

The room was nice sized, but not spectacular. Queen bed, a sofa bed, desk with nice chair. It was clean except my wife found some hair in the bath tub. I would not have noticed, but she is very picky about those things.

Our room was on the front side facing the interstate. There was some noise from the Interstate, but not enough to keep me awake. The heater did a good job in keeping the room warm, and was not noisy. We did not hear any noise from the hallway or neighboring rooms. I know the room on one side had small kids, so they were either well behaved, or the walls are very good at noise blocking.

The Courtyard does have a no partying in the room policy.

The rooms and the hallways are fire sprinklered.

The driveway can be difficult to find. We were aware of this fact, and kept an eye out for the hotel while we were driving South on I-65. You have to drive through an area past several other buildings to get to the road going to the Courtyard. If there is an event going on at the Star Plaza, The parking people try to prevent you from driving down the road.

It is in walking distance to the Star Plaza (evan in the cold with a light mist.) Probably only 200 yards further than the worst parking spot for the Theater. We saw Lonestar there. I'm not a Country fan (wife is) But the theater was so nice, and the band did a good job of entertaining, and no hassle parking the car-made an enjoyable evening.

Recomend the Courtyard. If you can get a room facing the back, it would be the best.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2005

After comparing this hotel with others in the area we headed back to the Country Inn & Suites. Even though it was just a little more than we wanted to pay it was worth it! Everything from the front desk to the room to the breakfast to the pool, etc. was wonderful. The breakfast was wonderful and so much to choose from. Our room was extremely quiet and we didn't hear doors closing at all hours of the night and early morning. We would definately recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2005

This is a very nice hotel set back along a service road (behind the Radisson Star Plaza) in a wooded area off I-65. The hotel exterior is wood and it looks like a lodge. The front reception area is two stories high with the breakfast area to the left and reception area to the right. There is a nice indoor/outdoor pool area right off the lobby. We stayed over a Thursday night and there was an evening reception with drinks and snacks in the lobby. Our room had one queen bed with a sofa sleeper. It was clean and nicely decorated. It took us approximately 45 minutes to get from downtown Chicago to the hotel. I would recommend staying here. I recieved it on a Priceline bid (2-1/2*) for $43.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn in Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Property: Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Address: 7850 Rhode Island St, Merrillville, IN 46410-5600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Courtyard
Merrillville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing