We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Nearby Hotels
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Merrillville(Merrillville)(Great Value!)
$84
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
45
62
41
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
62
41
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar plazafree breakfasthot tubscrambled eggs baconloved this hotelyour luggageroom was cleanwould stay here againoutdoor poolno cluehotel breakfastsitting areahot breakfastthe ground floorgreat roomfirst floorattending a concert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 175 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was fine, the lobby was clean, and the pool was great. It had coffee in the lobby available and not so cheap breakfast. I was much more pleased with the place this time than last time.

Room Tip: Don't choose one on the right of the lobby. The highway is very loud there.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms were nice and very big. I also thought the beds were very comfortable and the service was very nice, big but if your staying for more than a couple nights you might be happier somplace else...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Many of our guests stay for the entire week and our goal is to make all of them feel at home and like family. There are several places very close by to dine and the variety is endless. Please let us know of any special requests or needs you may have for a long term stay. We will be sure to make your visit a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped off in Merrillville on our way from Chicago to Indianapolis. The front dest staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, everything you would want for a stop over. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby. One thing to mention is that there is no lift, so ask for a room on the ground floor if that might be a problem.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gillisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not ideal for business, we had a meeting room and it was very inconvenient. There was no elevator for our guests who have a hard time with stairs. Not that it was horrible, just horrible by Marriott standards. For this area the Hilton Garden Inn is a better choice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide the very finest service and facilities. We do have a challenge without the convenience of an elevator. We are always willing to assist with any travel items and provide service up our grand stair case. The Courtyard by Marriott, Merrillville does provide the option of a chair lift as well. Do not hesitate to ask us for assistance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is nice for a few nights, but if you are staying for longer than that, it is not a nice place to stay. The rooms smelled as if someone had been smoking in it. Although The bed was very comfortable. The pool was nice, but the hotub was much to hot. When you would first get in you would not feel very well. The bathroom in the hotel room was a little dirty, but the rest of the room was very nice. The hotel does not have an elevator to bring your luggage up to the second floor with. The hotel is a little outdated in the lobby. The breakfeast was very nice and there was a huge selection of it. If you are thinking about staying in Merillville for a couple nights and you are looking for a cheap place to stay, then this is the place to go.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Connor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have made great strides and improvement with our hot tub and guest rooms. Our staff is committed to providing the most memorable experience for all our guests. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews