We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a quick trip...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine for a quick trip...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms were nice and very big. I also thought the beds were very comfortable and the service was very nice, big but if your staying for more than a couple nights you might be happier somplace else...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Many of our guests stay for the entire week and our goal is to make all of them feel at home and like family. There are several places very close by to dine and the variety is endless. Please let us know of any special requests or needs you may have for a long term stay. We will be sure to make your visit a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    39
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
29
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off in Merrillville on our way from Chicago to Indianapolis. The front dest staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, everything you would want for a stop over. Also there are plenty of places to eat nearby. One thing to mention is that there is no lift, so ask for a room on the ground floor if that might be a problem.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gillisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not ideal for business, we had a meeting room and it was very inconvenient. There was no elevator for our guests who have a hard time with stairs. Not that it was horrible, just horrible by Marriott standards. For this area the Hilton Garden Inn is a better choice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide the very finest service and facilities. We do have a challenge without the convenience of an elevator. We are always willing to assist with any travel items and provide service up our grand stair case. The Courtyard by Marriott, Merrillville does provide the option of a chair lift as well. Do not hesitate to ask us for assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice for a few nights, but if you are staying for longer than that, it is not a nice place to stay. The rooms smelled as if someone had been smoking in it. Although The bed was very comfortable. The pool was nice, but the hotub was much to hot. When you would first get in you would not feel very well. The bathroom in the hotel room was a little dirty, but the rest of the room was very nice. The hotel does not have an elevator to bring your luggage up to the second floor with. The hotel is a little outdated in the lobby. The breakfeast was very nice and there was a huge selection of it. If you are thinking about staying in Merillville for a couple nights and you are looking for a cheap place to stay, then this is the place to go.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Connor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have made great strides and improvement with our hot tub and guest rooms. Our staff is committed to providing the most memorable experience for all our guests. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is worst hotel in the marriott chain I've ever stayed at. They didn't clean our room or give us towels or take the trash. The breakfast isn't free there anymore either. The hot tub jets barely shoot out any water and its not very hot. No elevator which is a pain when you have several suit cases. The management didn't say anything about a certain demographics bad behavior. Lounging around using the computers shirtless while the kids run screaming up and down the hallways. Avoid this hotel. Supposedly remodeled but looks like crap.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C, General Manager at Clarion Inn in Merrillville, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Our sincerest apologies for not providing you with our normal standards and services. We pride ourselves on our hotels cleanliness and service. Our mission is to create an atmosphere where all of our guests can experience a warm and relaxed enviornment. We would truly appreciate the opportunity to provide you with a true experience at The Courtyard by Marriott, Merrillville. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if I can ever be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in an average queen room on the second floor. From the moment you drive up to the hotel, you can tell this property is well run and well maintained. This hotel is an older property. Since it only has two floors, there is no elevator. However, more than once the staff was willing and able to assist you with toting luggage and things upstairs. My queen room was an average size room with a pull-out couch and a desk area. Others in my party were in a king room which was a larger room and had a mini fridge and a microwave. My room faced the front of the hotel and I could easily hear the noise from I 65. I am sure rooms on the lower level, facing the rear of the hotel are much quieter. Another quirk of this property were the water flow preventers on the sink. In all the water pressure was fine, but the flow preventer on the sink was a little annoying. If you are visiting the area for a weekend or short stay, this property should fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently stayed here for a quick overnight and I thought it was great. I know the hotel does not have the new Courtyard look but everything was in great shape and very clean.
The hotel does not have elevators and our room was on the second level but we had no problems with that.
The beds were very comfortable and the room had a nice flat screen TV.
I found the hotel to be very safe and well lit since it is tucked behind an office complex.

I would not mind staying at this property again if I was in the Merrillville area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM11traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn in Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn in Merrillville

Property: Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Address: 7850 Rhode Island St, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn in Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Merrillville offers unique lodge style accommodations in an ideal location just 35 minutes from the bustle of Chicago. Located just off I-65 at Exit 253, this hotel is the perfect place to stay while visiting the area's top attractions such as Star Plaza Theatre, Indiana Dunes, and Deep River Water Park. Business Travelers also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of BP, Ford, US Steel, and NiSource. This Clarion hotel offers unique amenities among Merrillville, IN hotels including an outdoor waterfall and pond, a heated indoor/outdoor pool, and free WiFi. Enjoy a delicious breakfast at the Courtyard Cafe, or get in a work out on the road at the fitness center. Guest Rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable and a luxurious bedding package. With the Windy City just 40 miles away, this hotel is also convenient for a quick commute to Chicago where you can enjoy Millennium Park, Navy Pier, or Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn in Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Courtyard Merrillville
Merrillville Marriott
Merrillville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing