We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
59
53
37
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
53
37
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskmanager lisaseveral dining optionsfamily stayed hereon numerous occasionsoutstanding customer servicebasic amenitiesbiscuits and gravyplace to staynorthwest indianaovernight stayconvenient locationroom was cleanroad noisewaffleshot itemsstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 164 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 11/21/2012. The check was speedy. The extra pillows were in the room as requested. The hotel staff was very friendly and outgoing. The whole building is well taken care of. Not one thing out of place or to complain about. Anyone staying here will enjoy themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCRANE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. My company puts me up in this hotel when I need to visit our Indiana location. It is a good "working" hotel. Its close to our location in Indiana, you can get work done in the hotel room. The rooms are a good size. And the hotel even offers a complimentary breakfast. I recommend this hotel for business travelers or even for people passing through if they have had a long day of driving and need to stop for the night. And if you are staying for more than one day, Chicago is literally 45 minutes from the hotel, so you could venture out to Chicago if you have some free time at night. If you have never been to Merrillville Indiana before it is sort of an odd city, it has many law offices and medical offices off the main drag, but then has shopping centers and hooter's too. About the hotel, my only issue is sometimes the wireless connection is bad, which obviously is important on a business trip, so I do carry a wireless card, in case I cannot connect at all to the hotel's wireless.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the 3rd floor. Quieter / more relaxed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Not a terrible stay but definitely an average stay. Rooms were very small and the hallways showed their age. Very close to the interstate and pretty loud attempting to sleep.

Don't get me wrong, it provides a useful place to stay but it isn't as nice as most other Fairfield Inn properties. It does provide an incredible value for your dollar in this particular area and that is why I chose this property and will choose it again.

Room Tip: Stay on the side farthest from the interstate traffic for the sake of sleep value.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location: very accessible from main highway. Can be seen from I-65. A variety of restaurants are close to the hotel.
Service was great. We arrived at 2pm and was given a room right away. We stated our preference (quiet area, higher floor) and we got what we requested. Room was clean, good smell, clean bed sheets, with small refrigerator, TV, desk and chair. Good insulation since we do not hear any noise from the hallway. We had a restful sleep. Breakfast is free, which is typical of Fairfield Inns, and it consisted of hardboiled eggs, waffles, bread, cereals, oatmeal, fruits, juices. Good selection, spacious dining area.
Ice cold drinks on the lobby to freshen up. With gym which we didn't have time to use.
I left an important document on the receptionist's counter and upon reaching our room, I got a call from the lobby informing me that my document was left at their desk. Honest and friendly staff.
We will absolutely stay here again and will recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Specify your preference to the receptionist and they would gladly accommodate your needs as long as the room is available. Third floor not facing the highway has quiet rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpsnow1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a long day of walking at a pro golf tournament, we were ready for a good night's sleep. We checked a couple of hotels and chose the Fairfield Inn because they offered a better price than the others in the immediate area.

Finding the entrance into the hotel is a bit tricky because they don't have the usual covered entrance area to drive underneath like many hotels do. We discovered, though, that you can enter from either side of the building. Once inside, Josh at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

We opted for a room with one king bed. Although it was a very small room, the only thing that felt small was the bathroom - there was hardly any counter space around the corner sink. Other than that, it was very clean and well appointed. If it matters to you, it was tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillows lost their fluffiness very quickly. I'm used to a rather stiff memory foam pillow, though, so maybe that's why I didn't care for them.

Our room was on the end of the building right beside the interstate and we barely heard the road noise at all... and that was even withOUT the air conditioning running to drown out any noise! Our room was also on the wall beside the stairway and we never once heard any noise from that. And, we even discovered in the morning when we went to our truck that there were workers in the hotel parking lot beside ours that had accidentally turned a Bobcat on its side that morning - which I'm sure made a loud noise - and we never even heard that!

The deluxe continental breakfast in the morning was pretty good. They offered better fare than most hotels - things like biscuits & gravy, microwaveable sandwiches, and fat free milk. Of course, they also had the usual waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. The dining area was large enough to accommodate several people - not small and cramped where you're tripping over each other like some hotels. They promptly refilled empty things too.

The hotel itself might be a bit tricky to find for those unfamiliar with the area - it's not directly off the highway, but rather down a winding side access road. From US30, look for Staples near the stoplight. When you turn at that stoplight, immediately turn left before going up the hill to Staples. Follow the road around past Hooters, Max & Erma's, and Abuelo's - the hotel will be on the left.

There are a TON of restaurants, shopping centers, gas stations, and the like in the area. There are at least three restaurants on the same road as the hotel - the rest are on either side of US30 and I65. There is a very nice shopping mall a few stoplights east on US30. You can find just about anything you might need within a few minutes of this hotel. I highly recommend a visit to the Albanese Candy factory - about 5 minutes east on US30. It's a sensory and sugary overload!

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, then ask for a room with a higher number. We were in 202 and it was right beside the highway. They have an elevator, so all floors are easily handicap accessible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews