We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitively Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Competitively Priced”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a long day of walking at a pro golf tournament, we were ready for a good night's sleep. We checked a couple of hotels and chose the Fairfield Inn because they offered a better price than the others in the immediate area.

Finding the entrance into the hotel is a bit tricky because they don't have the usual covered entrance area to drive underneath like many hotels do. We discovered, though, that you can enter from either side of the building. Once inside, Josh at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

We opted for a room with one king bed. Although it was a very small room, the only thing that felt small was the bathroom - there was hardly any counter space around the corner sink. Other than that, it was very clean and well appointed. If it matters to you, it was tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillows lost their fluffiness very quickly. I'm used to a rather stiff memory foam pillow, though, so maybe that's why I didn't care for them.

Our room was on the end of the building right beside the interstate and we barely heard the road noise at all... and that was even withOUT the air conditioning running to drown out any noise! Our room was also on the wall beside the stairway and we never once heard any noise from that. And, we even discovered in the morning when we went to our truck that there were workers in the hotel parking lot beside ours that had accidentally turned a Bobcat on its side that morning - which I'm sure made a loud noise - and we never even heard that!

The deluxe continental breakfast in the morning was pretty good. They offered better fare than most hotels - things like biscuits & gravy, microwaveable sandwiches, and fat free milk. Of course, they also had the usual waffles, cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. The dining area was large enough to accommodate several people - not small and cramped where you're tripping over each other like some hotels. They promptly refilled empty things too.

The hotel itself might be a bit tricky to find for those unfamiliar with the area - it's not directly off the highway, but rather down a winding side access road. From US30, look for Staples near the stoplight. When you turn at that stoplight, immediately turn left before going up the hill to Staples. Follow the road around past Hooters, Max & Erma's, and Abuelo's - the hotel will be on the left.

There are a TON of restaurants, shopping centers, gas stations, and the like in the area. There are at least three restaurants on the same road as the hotel - the rest are on either side of US30 and I65. There is a very nice shopping mall a few stoplights east on US30. You can find just about anything you might need within a few minutes of this hotel. I highly recommend a visit to the Albanese Candy factory - about 5 minutes east on US30. It's a sensory and sugary overload!

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, then ask for a room with a higher number. We were in 202 and it was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
26
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I went this week for four nights for a business trip. I am relocating back to Michigan from Chicago and I lived in Crown Point Indiana while there. I was moving this week so I stayed. The hotel was adequate. The breakfast selection was exceptional, lots of healthy choices and choices. The staff were all extremely friendly. The pool was larger, didn't use it. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The only complaint I would have is that the bathrooms were very awkward and hard to use they were at an angle. The bed was nice but I hate wall air condition and heating units....hate them.
It is also difficult to get to this hotel, had I not been familiar with the area I would have been discouraged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyasabeeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The rooms are too small for the price (I usually have a bigger room at a Ramada or Days Inn). They didn't clean the room until 2 pm. They took the old towels and didn't give us new towels for 2 hours. Breakfast was average. Front Desk clerks were polite and helpful when approached. If they cut the price in half it would have been totally worth it, but $109 a night is way too much. Just stay next door at the Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: Stay next door. The room will be just as good and cost way less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I am not a light sleeper, and am very used to sleeping in hotels (Gold level with both Marriott and Hilton). Normally exterior noise doesn't bother me, in fact I often stay at hotels adjacent to an Interstate, hospital, or airport.

As soon as I entered my room, I thought the window must be open there was so much noise from the freeway. Even with the blackout drapes drawn it didn't muffle the noise which was non-stop from the minute I got to the room until I checked out. I have never in my life stayed in a hotel with so little soundproofing.

The breakfast area was fine, lobby was fine, service was fine, the room was clean and other than the NOISE was comfortable, pretty standard for a Fairfield property.

But the noise. I won't stay there again until they install windows that actually cut down on the never ending roar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovescabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnorjo, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Fairfield Inn Merrillville. Since your visit, we have completed work on the exterior of the building to caulk and seal the exterior, reducing the amount of highway noise our guest hear. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

John OConnor
Regional VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Love the area and we go there to check out the mall and eat at Joe's Crab Shack. Thre are none in are area of Michigan. Also found a cute town just south that has tons of antique stores there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I usually prefer Courtyards, but have been trying the Fairfield's lately when they seem newer in age than the CY's...this one was good enough. I think it is showing some signs of age, but it was relatively clean and a good value for the rate. As always with properties, they seem to neglect 'real sanitary' cleaning in areas like corners of bathrooms and behind beds/nightstands. Again, this location was good - not above par - but not bad, I would stay again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
394 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Frequent user of Fairfield Inns. Excellent value and excellent breakfast is what is expected and that is what you get. First floor hallway to room on the day we arrived was in need of vacuuming.
Front desk attendant Julie(?) very helpful but every time we went in or out she was on the phone.
The best thing about this site was that it across- 50 yards- from an excellent Mexican restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Address: 8275 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville is ideally located in the heart of Merrillville, IN at the southwest corner of I-65 and US-30. This premier location offers easy access to the area's top destinations including Star Plaza Theater, Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, and Westfield Mall, as well as the offices of NiSource, BP, and Cargill. Guests staying at this Merrillville hotel enjoy starting their day off right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road in the pool. Guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen HD TVs with premium cable, full-sized work desk, free WiFi, and select rooms with mini-fridges and microwaves. Stay at the Fairfield Inn Merrillville and enjoy the premier amenities and an ideal location that make this one of the top Merrillville, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Merrillville
Fairfield Merrillville
Merrillville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing