We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy NOISE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Holy NOISE!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I am not a light sleeper, and am very used to sleeping in hotels (Gold level with both Marriott and Hilton). Normally exterior noise doesn't bother me, in fact I often stay at hotels adjacent to an Interstate, hospital, or airport.

As soon as I entered my room, I thought the window must be open there was so much noise from the freeway. Even with the blackout drapes drawn it didn't muffle the noise which was non-stop from the minute I got to the room until I checked out. I have never in my life stayed in a hotel with so little soundproofing.

The breakfast area was fine, lobby was fine, service was fine, the room was clean and other than the NOISE was comfortable, pretty standard for a Fairfield property.

But the noise. I won't stay there again until they install windows that actually cut down on the never ending roar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovescabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnorjo, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Fairfield Inn Merrillville. Since your visit, we have completed work on the exterior of the building to caulk and seal the exterior, reducing the amount of highway noise our guest hear. I hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

John OConnor
Regional VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
26
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland, MI
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Love the area and we go there to check out the mall and eat at Joe's Crab Shack. Thre are none in are area of Michigan. Also found a cute town just south that has tons of antique stores there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffimerrgm, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I usually prefer Courtyards, but have been trying the Fairfield's lately when they seem newer in age than the CY's...this one was good enough. I think it is showing some signs of age, but it was relatively clean and a good value for the rate. As always with properties, they seem to neglect 'real sanitary' cleaning in areas like corners of bathrooms and behind beds/nightstands. Again, this location was good - not above par - but not bad, I would stay again if I had business in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Frequent user of Fairfield Inns. Excellent value and excellent breakfast is what is expected and that is what you get. First floor hallway to room on the day we arrived was in need of vacuuming.
Front desk attendant Julie(?) very helpful but every time we went in or out she was on the phone.
The best thing about this site was that it across- 50 yards- from an excellent Mexican restaurant

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Average "express" motel, nothing bad but nothing great. Nice clean place flat screen tv's, newer renovated rooms. Small lobby and breakfest area. I recieved discounted price with priceline, I would not pay the higher price with Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All across the U.S.
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We had to attend a funeral in the area and needed two rooms. Because one of our family is handicapped, we needed a handicapped accessible room. The hotel clerk was very understanding and said there was a handicap accessible room right at the side door with a parking space so designated. It was a 15 foot walk from the car to the room! This hotel really understands the needs of individuals who are wheel chair or walking cane bound. Rooms were immaculate and the lobby was warm and friendly (loved the chocolate chip cookies!). The hotel clerk also recommended a restaurant that delivered to the hotel. In the morning, there was a special effort by the breakfast hostess to give me a tray to hand-deliver breakfast items to that room. We travel quite a lot and was impressed with this particular Marriott Fairfield Inn because they truly went the extra mile. Thanks for the great service and warm/friendly rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room. Easy to get to breakfast area, computers, pool, lobby desk, etc. Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I don't think you'll go wrong here. Woke up on Saturday morning wanting to get on the road early, but breakfast isn't put out until 7 a.m. on weekends. The gentleman at the front desk generously offered to go into the pantry and get me muffins and yogurt, which I greatly appreciated. Have to say that Fairfield has really good bakery style muffins at all the locations I've stayed at recently, and Activia yogurt -- my favorite. The room and bath were clean and nice, if small. It was on the interstate side of the building, but we didn't hear any traffic noise. The king size bed took up most of the room. There was a desk & office chair and comfy upholstered chair. No mini fridge or microwave or sofa, but I've never felt that those were worth paying extra for if you are only going to be there a night or two. Like another reviewer said, our room was small and the bath had a tiny triangular sink/vanity tucked in the corner. No complaints, just an observation. If you are staying for several days or sharing the room/bath with someone else, you might want to make sure you get a room with a bigger vanity area. We definitely got our money's worth and will stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Very small vanity area in our bath, so check the room first if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbierick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Address: 8275 Georgia Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville is ideally located in the heart of Merrillville, IN at the southwest corner of I-65 and US-30. This premier location offers easy access to the area's top destinations including Star Plaza Theater, Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, and Westfield Mall, as well as the offices of NiSource, BP, and Cargill. Guests staying at this Merrillville hotel enjoy starting their day off right at the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind after a long day on the road in the pool. Guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen HD TVs with premium cable, full-sized work desk, free WiFi, and select rooms with mini-fridges and microwaves. Stay at the Fairfield Inn Merrillville and enjoy the premier amenities and an ideal location that make this one of the top Merrillville, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Merrillville
Fairfield Merrillville
Merrillville Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing