We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We planned a trip to visit Chicago for two days and staying in Merrillville was not too far from the Hammond train station. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our king room was perfect. The bed was comfy and having a microwave and refrigerator was nice. Having to catch early trains into Chicago, it was nice to enjoy a very good selection of fresh and hot food for breakfast. We needed a 1:00pm check out ILO noon and it was no problem. We will be returning next year. Great hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XUMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent service and accommodations; friendly, but professional. Nice place to stay. They had a waffle maker set the fire alarm off, and handled the problem quickly and calmly. As soon as they could they went to the neighbor hotel and brought back cooked pancakes for us. Before we were finished they were replacing the waffle maker.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank LangdonTowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After trying several motels in this area I found this is to be rated above all the others. The staff tries to meet all of your needs and the accommodations are in excellent shape. It was a quiet place too for us older citizens who can't put up with a lot of noise. They need to advertise that they have microwaves and refrigerators in their rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wanted to spend Friday night about an hour from Chicago and the Hampton Inn Merrillville was perfect! Great location just off I-65, but nice and quiet. The hot breakfast was outstanding with the exception that the waffle machine wasn't working, but I loved the hot oatmeal and blueberry muffin. Many great restaurant choices within walking distance from the hotel. The pool looked very nice although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldivaaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a nice experience, but sleeping was torture because of the people above us. They were very loud and became even louder when security was called. Not to mention the worker in the lobby asked my child to leave the lobby for no reason, and i was told by the manager that it was not appropriate for her to do that. The lobby is open to any guest of the hotel. I loved the hotel itself not to mention the location, but there were things that to me were totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Willy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice up-to-date room, comfortable bed. Hall noise was excessive though and we could even hear people talking on the second floor. Other than that this is a very nice motel and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The customer service of the lady that checked me out and of the lady working Saturday morning breakfast was outstanding. However, we wish the pool had been open longer and that our room did not have cockroaches. I don't think we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 22 in Merrillville
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#4 of 22 in Merrillville
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#6 of 22 in Merrillville
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#9 of 22 in Merrillville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Merrillville

Address: 8353 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range: $107 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Hampton Inn Merrillville is located off I-65 in proximity to many area attractions including Star Plaza Theatre, Deep River Waterpark, and Southlake Mall. Hampton Inn Merrillville has the modern amenities you have come to expect such as free WiFi, flat-screen TVs in every room, and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing