We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Reviewed August 24, 2007

The hotel is very dirty and has a bad odor. The bathroom was not clean. The bed did not have fitted sheets and the top sheet had holes in it. I unfortunately made the decisoin to stay after my first night and stayed 4 nights. 2 of the 4 nights, there was no hot water. I worked in the lobby (because the room had limited wireless access) on 2 evenings only to listen to the front desk employees complain about their jobs, the hotel management, and the excessive complaints they get from customers regarding housekeeping not doing their job. If anyone stayed at this hotel and found it to be acceptable, they either got lucky with their room or have very low standards. I ws travelling on business with 4 other people. They each vowed never to stay at this hotel again. La Quinta Corp. should shut down this property!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flylikeaneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 343 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2007

The stay was not great. You're not supposed to ask too much of a La Quinta, but for $100 well outside of Chicago you should get something. It sounds like everything in this area is fading away. It's on I-65 just at the edge of the Chicago metro area (in Indiana).

The hotel was in fairly good condition, but had definite problems.
The room was clean, but smelled a bit. The room was rather large, but had peeling paint on the trim (prime!), and the desk wasn't anything to be excited about. The chair didn't work and our view was the pool (small with gravel on the bottom).

There were a lot of dogs in the place; that's good for you dogowners, bad for everyone else.

The bathroom had been remodeled with nice tilework, but the caulk on the tube was all moldy, either from using the wrong caulk or poor upkeep.

The mattress on the bed had almost no support, and even curved inward. The pillows were thin and lumpy.

The immediate neighborhood is a bit scary with a beaten up Knight's Inn and a closed down restaurant. Beyond that are a bunch of big highways, all your usual restaurants, and a mall.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoss_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

This hotel was okay, the price was good and the location was good. The only problem we had was the noise but other than that it was very clean and the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We were worried because of the previous reviews but our rooms were very clean. The housekeeping staff was very nice. The exterior and interior had been renovated. Room decor was nice. Breakfast was good. We have no complaints about LaQuinta Merrillville.
Location was good too.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvnflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

I stayed at the La Quinta and found it to be a very pleasent exeperince. One of the lights was going out in the room and they had it fixed in 5 minutes.The breakfeast was very good and the Staff was very Friendly. The only complaint is that the tv stations didnt come in very well at first. But that was fixed as quick as the lightbulb.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGTOM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2004

Stayed here for one night and wouldn't ever stay again.

Hard to find location. Went circling around until I saw the La Quinta sign and then had to circle some more. The hotel lobby is off a parking lot at the back of another hotel!

Staff was friendly enough, but kind of clueless. Breakfast is as described.

My room was worse. It had a terrible smell to it, so I kept the window open for hours, then closed it in the wee hours of the morning. When I got up the next morning, my nostrils were filled with the musty smell of the room again! Yikes!

I chose this place because it is just south of Chicago and I didn't want to drive into Chicago at night and try to find a hotel there. Will definitely try for a better place next trip. Would give it a one and a half circles if possible. This is just a tad better than a Motel 6.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed July 18, 2004

It was ok for one night. The bathroom was not very clean and the halls smelled stale. Continental breakfast was packets of oatmeal, frozen waffles and cereal. The price is pretty good if your on a budget. Staff was excellent though. Professional and friendly. This would do for college kids, but not for families or long stays.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#7 of 22 in Merrillville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 22 in Merrillville
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 22 in Merrillville
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Merrillville

Address: 8210 Louisiana St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
La Quinta Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville La Quinta
La Quinta Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing