We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate -- nothing more, nothing less but be sure to bring your own pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
michigan, usa
1 review
“Adequate -- nothing more, nothing less but be sure to bring your own pillows”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

La Quinta needs some updates or modernizing. It's no frills but decent value for the money as compared to many of the other hotels in the vicinity or 'budget row'. Only issue was that one of the pillows on bed was not (according to desk staff) one of the hotel's which caused a shudder -- no the stained pillow was not theirs' but housekeeping did not check pillows when they were changed.... Anyway, bathroom was clean, rest of linens were clean as well. Not sure if the bedspreads are washed on regular basis, but blankets need to replaced -- quite worn. Housekeeping staff friendly as was hotel staff. Should also note that when the cleanliness/issue was brought to management's attention they did not charge for the night. I have stayed in worse and have stayed in better. Oh, PS there was alot of difficulty with internet access -- often went out and would have to search for spot outside of room in order to use internet (sigh)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    72
    66
    67
    59
See reviews for
133
61
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

While the bed linens were clean and crisp, that is the only part of the hotel that is up to date. The carpet everywhere needs replacing, our bathroom door was broken and would not shut. Staff is friendly and breakfast was good, but this is a "keep the flip flops on" stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Puyallup, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We planned on stay there one night for a wedding. However, our plan would land in Chicago about 1130pm which would get us to Merrillville around 230-300am. Check in was 1pm later in the day. I called Central Reservations and a Reservation Agent, Brian told us getting in that early would not be a problem. Once we got to the hotel around 230am...the Front Desk clerk gave us our keys and we were on our way to our room...without any hassles! The room was clean and our 2 kids (4 years and 8 months) slept well. The hotel is near the mall and highway that made our gift buying easy and continuing our travels to Detroit after the wedding easier! We would certainly stay here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmbee928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0805GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Thank you greatly on your kind words in regards to your stay with us. We strive on excellent customer service and clean, comfortable, and well maintained rooms. It is a pleasure to hear that our service team took care of you at such late hours of the night and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to any return trips you should have to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I booked with Travelocity "secret Room" and was promised a 3star hotel room that would sleep 5. Well, it is not a 3star, it is a 2 star (which was travelocity's fault), however, we were pleasantly surprised. I was very nervous after reading some older reviews, but knew that I couldn't cancel because of the "secret room" deal. We stayed in a suite - which was the ONLY suite in the hotel. It was very roomy and clean. We arrived at 1:00 a.m. and discovered that there were only beds for 4 (king and sofa bed). I asked for a cot, since I had clearly booked for 5 but Marianne at the front desk didn't know where they were located and said we would have to wait for maintainance to arrive in the morning. I was prepared to get upset but was THRILLED when she gave us an extra nearby room for the night for free. The next day the cot arrived promptly and we ended up having a very nice 3 night stay. The breakfast area was on the small side and a little cramped, but all in all we were very pleased with the hotel. Also, great location for going into Chicago but Merrillville had a lot of shopping and restaurants to offer as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhollissmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0805GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to our establishment. We do work very hard to ensure complete satisfaction during your stay. We do all that we can to prevent negative reviews or experiences and I am pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Was concerned about the amount of negative feedback about this place, but the nearby motels in the same price range had even more negative comments. Tried it and was pleasantly surprised. Paid $59 incl. tax for a room with king size bed. Room was clean & spacious and had a recliner. The nearby Super 8 was a few bucks more; I've stayed there in the past, and the La Quinta is definitely better. Bed linens and towels were fresh & clean, and they honored my online request for extra pillows. Place was fairly quiet for a Friday & Saturday night. At checkout, they tried to charge a rate that was higher than what was quoted when I made my online reservation. The problem was fixed without question, but you should pay attention to your bill. Breakfast was adequate; cereal, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, muffins, juice, good coffee. They cater to budget travelers, so the breakfast area was overrun with ill-behaved kids. I usually stay in motels in this price range, and would rate this as average to slightly above. All sorts of shopping and restaurants are nearby, and it's about an hour to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0805GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have offered about our hotel. We are working very hard to ensure we prevent negative comments such as the ones you reviewed online about our location. We feel we offer a great value and have a wonderful location near much shopping and restaurants. Thank you again for the positive reconignition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel provides a great value. They staff is very friendly and the rooms are large and clean. I would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend that anyone staying in the Merrillville area consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0805GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Thank you for your kind words of your stay. It is always our goal to provide a clean comfortable room at a great value. We strive for each visit to be better than your last. We look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My husband and I had been traveling for three hours when we arrived at the hotel our travel agent had booked for us -- the Radisson. It was so unacceptable that we left within one hour of arriving and randomly chose LaQuinta since we had stayed at one before and it had been fine.

The clerk at the front desk was courteous and had us checked in immediately. Because she saw me struggling with arthritic knees, she gave us the handicapped room which was so much easier! The room was great, the bed was comfortable, and my husband and I had the pool to ourselves. It was heavenly. For almost half the price of the Radisson, we had a wonderful experience at La Quinta.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsydc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ0805GM, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, August 28, 2009
I am pleased to hear that we were able to salvage your night after a previous poor experience in the area. We hope to see you back for future stays and I assure you we will always put your needs first to provide and clean and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 21 in Merrillville
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Merrillville

Property: La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Address: 8210 Louisiana St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
La Quinta Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville La Quinta
La Quinta Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing