We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Merrillville
Nearby Hotels
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Merrillville(Merrillville)(Great Value!)
$84
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
67
28
7
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
28
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom suitefront deskfire pitmarriott brandmon wedhome away from homefull kitchenstar plaza theaterrental carparking lotenjoyed our staynice stayattending a concertplatinum memberpull out couchwould stay here againthe entire staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Unfortunately I only stayed here a couple of nights, I would have stayed much longer. This property has recently under gone a complete remodel. The comfortable rooms feature modern furnishings, flat screen TV's, about half the channels are in HD. I could go on, but in short, this is the place to stay. If you are trying to decide b/w the Courtyard or this Res Inn, spend the extra money and stay here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your glowing review! As you mentioned we did have a $2.2 million renovation earlier this year. Also since the renovation we have redone the pool and added a firepit outdoors. All of that, and our wonderful staff have placed this hotel in the top 20% of all Residence Inns worldwide.
Please do come and see us again,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent one night here on our journey home to SC after spending some time in Chicago. The hotel is really hidden away in an odd one-way system but the signage is clear so finding the hotel was ok.

We had a 1 bedroom suite for my wife, myself and 2 boys. My wife and I ended up on the sofa bed which gave a decent nights sleep. The room was clean and well appointed with nice furniture and a well equipped kitchen.

We used the pool which although small is very nice and perfect for kids. It would not be a good pool to try to actually swim in - 2 or 3 strokes would take an adult from one end to the other.

Breakfast was very good with a large selection of items. The breakfast area is very small and I could see it being an issue when the hotel is crowded.

The hotel is located on a busy road with lots of shopping and dining options. We ended up at an excellent Thai restaurant (Five Star Thai) which I highly recommend. It is well worth the short drive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your great comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We did finish a $2.2 million renovation earlier this year and the staff is very proud of the new decor. The pool you mentioned was installed this spring and last week we put in a new firepit out near the sport court. I have already seen several gatherings of guests using the new firepit and expect that it will be very popular this fall.

Please come see us again.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just spent one week at this hotel in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the first floor and it was a great stay. The staff was all very welcoming, friendly and accommodating (and the general manager was very much in attendance and asking if all was well all during our stay), things were all in very good shape and very clean (recently remodeled we understand), and the price was very good for this size unit (with some discounts for length of stay, etc.) The breakfast was good. We did not try the evening reception as it is only offered 3 days a week Mon-Weds (less than most Residence Inns who also have it on Thursdays) and we had other plans the 2 applicable nights that we were there. The only problem that we had (that really has nothing to do with the Inn) was that Google Maps did not seem to understand how to get back to it because it is on a one way road and it is a bit confusing there. Just turn right off US 30 on Rhode Island Street and go all the way around to 80th place, turn left, and follow that back to the other end of Delaware St and turn left and that has you going in the right direction to get into the front of the Inn. (You can also cut through the parking lot of the Radisson and Star Theater lots to get back there a little quicker, or go past Rhode Island on US 30 to Connecticut St and turn right on that to 80th place and turn left to Delaware. Our friend's Garmin actually led them the last way.) Anyway, we would highly recommend this Inn and will stay there again when in the area!

Room Tip: We asked to be near one of the side entrances for easy unloading of luggage which worked well. It does mean a longer walk to the pool and breakfast area inside, but you can then pop out the side door and enter the main entrance a few steps away outside.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoosiers525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your great comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We did finish a $2.2 million renovation earlier this year and the staff is so proud of the new decor. We also put in a new pool this spring and last week a new firepit out near the sport court. I have already seen several gatherings of guests using the new firepit and expect that it will be very popular this fall.

Please come see us again.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Although I live just 20 minutes away, I had a “free night” to use before it expired. This was a good choice since we just had to walk across the parking lot to get to the Star Plaza where we saw a concert.

I know this area well, and there is everything there you need – stores and restaurants galore.

We received an upgrade to a 2-bedroom, 2-bath room with a fireplace, and it was great. Love those Residence Inns! Staff was wonderful, facility was very clean, and free breakfast that day was good with no one in line! (Must have been a very slow weekend.) Pool and workout area looked good too. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you attend a show at the Star Plaza. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and you won't hear footsteps above you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We try very hard to take care of our guests and really do appreciate your feedback. We did completely remodel the building early this year, put in a new pool, and will be getting a new firepit added to our outdoor patio for this fall. Please come see us again whe you get another "free" night or just need to get out of the house.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel. They only offer an evening social time three nights a week. Their breakfast includes-cereal, eggs, waffles, juices, coffee, etc. The pool is indoors and small. You must walk by the main desk to reach the pool which can be a little uncomfortable. The cost is high but at $159.00 per night plus tax which is why I gave it an average rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieVandalia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRVRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for you comments. We recently went through a two million dollar renovation and we are extremely proud of the results. The renovation included all rooms, public space and pool. Also, very shortly we are adding a nice fire pit outside that should add a nice area to hang out by our sports court.
Please do come see us again.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews