We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service”
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
Ranked #18 of 154 Restaurants in Merrillville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Hebron, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“bad service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We used to go once a month, but the service just worse and worse. The food is cold half the time, the food dosn't come out all at once, some get served and others had to wait at our table. Yep, manager did comp us, but it kept happening. We found that Kelsy's in Valpo does really great sea food, of couse selection isn't there, the quality is soo much better and service is close to perfect.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ReneeinHebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a typical Red Lobster, no complaints, but nothing to brag about. If you like seafood, you probably like Red Lobster, but I will say their Caesar Salad dressing is one of thebest I have had, and I love Caesar Salads, I try them in most restaurants I visit. This Red Lobster is not a dissappointment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HisDaughter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No thanks”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food wasn't very hot and service was slow and borderline rude . Very lackluster attitudes by many but NOT ALL of the wait staff .

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosiertraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
322 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Went the extra mile...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I took my Dad (with family of 3) to this location for lunch. Service was slow at the start, but the manager seemed to be on top of things (or knew he was short-handed) and made sure we got drinks and were attended to. My husband and I got the endless shrimp and the food was good (albeit a bit salty). Service was consistent after the food arrived and we didn't feel hurried. The waiter did warn us to order in advance because there would be a small wait for it to arrive (I'd call that proactive in setting our expectations). Before we left, we packed the leftovers with enough for a good mid-night snack. All around a good meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaylor2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just OK, Run of the Mill Chain”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Visited location on Sunday evening with family. Service was average, food quality was lacking somewhat as to what is expected from Red Lobster, and Pricing is average. We have visited this location dozens of times ,as well as other locations in the area, and this particular session was for whatever reason not up to par. Sorry for the somewhat negative post to a usually positive experience, but just keeping it real. It is what it was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeOxlong26045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

Merrillville, IN
Merrillville, IN
 
Merrillville, IN
 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing