We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my best CI&S experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was more of a stop, shower and sleep stay. The pool and hot tub were closed and the staff could not keep up with breakfast.

Room and shower were clean, beds comfortable and the old tube zenith tv worked fine.

Location was convenient and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamGBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, We will certainly use your comments to make improvements. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 338 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed one night and was very pleased overall. The only inconvenience was an extremely long wait for check in, but that in itself would not be enough to discourage me from staying at this hotel, or another Country Inn. The grounds were well kept, public areas were clean and tidy. My room was clean and spacious. The pool was closed for maintenance, but I wasn't going to be using that anyways. The free breakfast wasn't exactly gourmet, but adequate and had a decent selection of items. Overall I was very pleased!

Room Tip: I stayed in a King Suite, which had a lot of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review Thank you for taking the time to review your guest experience during your stay at our hotel. I appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Not what I would call a nice place. I can't call it a dump but, pretty close. TV is not even a flat screen and, remote doesn't work. Upgraded us to a King unfortunately, we had my daughter and after 20 minutes woman at desk got it straightened out. Not real close to Chicago so, don't be fooled. Look for another property around here, you can do a lot better.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank jallen370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, your comments are very important since it gives us the opportunity to improve our services. We will address the issues mentioned and make the corrections.
Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I checked and checked out within 2 hrs.... had hair not just a piece but like 30 on the bathroom floor. Called down to front desk to get it cleaned up and no one ever came! Pool was also closed by health department for bacteria. . 15 days ago... Do not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 428marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

I sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced at this hotel. Thank you for your review so we know the problems and can address them immediately. We do appreciate your business and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend and was not too impressed. Even though we did get an upgrade to a King suite, we were left disappointed. The floor we stayed on smelled so bad, the room could also use some work.....things were falling apart, remotes were not working good and the batteries were all taped in, motion detectors would wake us up because they kept going off in the middle of the night for whatever reason. The breakfast was not the greatest......the food was cold and seating is extremely limited. We wanted to check out the hot tub but it was empty (no water) so no one could get in it. Even if we wanted to give kudos to an employee, we couldn't because out of all the ones we seen, no one was wearing name tags. Slim chance we will be back....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

I am so sorry you were not pleased with you visit to our hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we will use the comments to make corrections. I know it was an inconvenience to you and we apologize.
Thank you for traveling and thank you for staying with us.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and reading some of the reviews, I was leery it had gone down hill. Thank goodness I don't base my stay on reviews alone. Great hotel! Management was wonderful. Family friendly. Great variety with the continental breakfast. The only thing bad is the hot tub is broke. Not sure what takes so long to fix. This seems to be common. I have had the same problem at other hotels.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank amyz622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your return visit. We are so glad that your found us to meet your expectations and you were happy with your visit. I am so sorry that the hot tub was broken, we will do all possible to get this corrected, I hope it was not an inconvenience to you.
We appreciate your comments and truly appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great pick on my part. Front desk workers were nice and friendly. The bed was nice and soft. Cookies were good. I was a little nervous picking this place after reading other reviews, they were misleading. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your review so others know of our facility. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 22 in Merrillville
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#4 of 22 in Merrillville
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
#13 of 22 in Merrillville
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 22 in Merrillville
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#7 of 22 in Merrillville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN

Address: 8311 Ohio, Merrillville, IN 46410-6586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range: $106 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located right off of i-65 & us30. Fairly new cozy property with 62 units including rooms with 2 beds, Jacuzzis and extended stay suites. We offer beautiful indoor pool, workout facility, free breakfast, has Internet and 24 hours fresh cookies. We are under new management and assure you 100% satisfaction. We are a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Merrillville, IN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing