We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here as last resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay here as last resort”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Checked in sunday night. Asked for wake up calls dialy at 7:30. Never received one. No heat in bathroom. You have to constantly adjust water temperature in shower. Thermostat and fan in walm complicated to coordinate to use together to get room to a comfortable temperature. Breakfast got worse and worse every morning. Variety of cereal, toast, bagel. Heated food was limited to a few paper thin strips of bacon and rubberized sausage. First time i had a glass of milk it was spoiled. No one ever at front desk. Key card stopped working three days in. Tv lineup card wrong, very few channels. The cleanliness is great and its a nice looking place. Next time i come here in a month, i will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnusprime1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    45
    55
    62
See reviews for
143
45
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here just one night on our way to MIlwaukee. This exit had probably more than a dozen hotels in close proximity, just off I-65. Most of the others has had poor to average reviews, and the chain I usually use was way overpriced for the area and day. We were able to find a travel coupon for Country Inn that made it very competitive for a lot better quality. We were very impressed with how quiet it was - no interstate noise at all, and the rooms seemed to be well insulated as we could not hear other guests. It was super clean, the breakfast was substantial, the pool & hot tub were nice, and there were cookies and coffee in the lobby. The front desk staff people were very professional, polite and helpful. Definitely recommend and would stay here again! I would avoid rooms near the pool, though, as the chlorine is rather strong in the immediate vicinity (but not other areas).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The hotel was tucked way back off the highway & not the easiest to find. Outward appearance on arrival was "very nice". We barely got into the room & the front desk was asking if everything was alright - at that point we didnt know. The room was small. No refrigerator or microwave. Ice machine was on the 1st floor. Pool was VERY small & only 5' deep. Hot tub nice but overpowering chlorine!
When we called the desk & asked to upgrade to the Jr. suite (for $15. more per the website) we were told that NO because I paid upfront & through Hotels.com aka "expedia" I couldnt upgrade. They would bring me a fridge & microwave for the $15. but No I wasnt allowed the bigger room or whirlpool that came with the upgrade. Hotels.com offered to reimburse the $15. but it was the principal overall that they refused us that because we paid full price before we ever got there!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhbigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Everything about this hotel was exceptional. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Any requests were met with a smile and prompt service. The lobby was lovely and inviting. The rooms were very clean, spacious and quiet. I never heard any sounds from outside the hotel. The beds were new and wonderfully comfortable. I slept soundly every night. The breakfast area was immaculate and the food was varied and plentiful and very good. Overall an excellent stay.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Starbelle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Upon arrival, the clerk did not know how to check in a customer with reservations through Expedia. Although assigned a first floor room, we requested a second floor, due to the overpowering smell of chlorine coming from the pool. The next day, returned to the room late afternoon to find it had not been made up. Front desk indicated we were not checked into that room, apparently another clerking error. A half hour later they sent someone to clean the room. Stairs, hallways and under the TV were covered in layers of dust. Breakfast was the same every morning. Staff was friendly, but didn't seem to know what to do to get return business. In this economy... ? Are you kidding me? Expensive for what we paid for. We were there for a wedding. Noise from the near by highway was constant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maj0rm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Very pleasant stay. I Travel a lot for work, but have never stayed in a Country Inns and Suites before. This location is good becuase its near so many restaurants, and the full breakfast was really nice with lots of choices. I liked the fresh cookies on the counter all the time, the pool was really warm, and the hotel was just very clean. It was nice to have internet and other amenities included that aren't at other chains. I'll definitely stay at Country Inns in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djf827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I have stayed at Country Inn before. Like any middle of the road hotels, the newer the better. This hotel was either new, or recently renovated. The rooms, while cramped were clean and comfortable.

For $50 on priceline, I was fine with it. Plenty of places to eat dinner right around the hotel and near a mall if that interests you.

I have stayed at Country Inns that were borderline 2 stars. This one I will give 4 stars given the rate and cleanliness and upkeep.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville
Address: 8311 Ohio, Merrillville, IN 46410-6586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located right off of i-65 & us30. Fairly new cozy property with 62 units including rooms with 2 beds, Jacuzzis and extended stay suites. We offer beautiful indoor pool, workout facility, free breakfast, has Internet and 24 hours fresh cookies. We are under new management and assure you 100% satisfaction. We are a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing