We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Merrillville
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it..”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

People living there with there dogs,cats,ext,they only clean the rooms,once every 3days,if you want it cleaned daily you have to pay for it...kids running up an down the hall ways,ext..cops came with dogs,an they still have young folks selling drugs...just not worth it..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zariamckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
12
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Other than a really bad vaccuum job throughout this hotel (the area right under the comforter on the bed, hallways, etc.) there was really not a lot to make me say that the place was bad. The strangest thing, though, was the not-so-eye-pleasing hallways throughout the place. There are narrow hallways painted a strange blue - no artwork - looked like the hallways in some sort of government run home or institution. Never gave me the "home" feeling while there because of this. The area must be rough, too, as you can't even get from the lobby to rooms without swiping your key in a security entry lock for the door. Yep, the door from the lobby to the hallways is locked - even with front desk staff right there!

This is a good place for a one night's stop for a sleeper then back on the road - wouldn't reccomend it for a week long stay or a romantic getaway!! Internet service - - -WARNING - - - though the highway signs say that the hotel has wireless internet, they charge you extra for it!!!!

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Not very clean,found a used washcloth on the shower rod in plain sight.Saw some kind of bug in bathroom. Had trash from fast food joint lying in the middle of the hall.Got there late (11 pm),left early (6 am).Slept with my clothes on,didn't want to take any chances with the bedding.Spend more for a decent room somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooker624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I took the leap and stayed here despite mostly bad reviews, what I found was it was an average hotel that is good for a cheap price. You get a bed, a bathroom, and a tv...thats about it, no coffee pot, no clock in the room, etc. If you are looking for the cheapest place in the Chicago area, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarond23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

The shower was falling apart, the AC unit wasn't working, the in-room phone didn't work and no one seemed to care!! What's worse, is when I called Motel 6 and told them about it, the person who took my call more or less said, "oh well... too bad"! To add insult to injury, I received a "generic" letter of apology. Not my idea of "customer service".

Based on the details above, I wouldn't advise anyone to use Motel 6. I was left with the impression of, "if you don't like it, don't come back!" So, I made that choice.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bigpuppyandsnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

After driving to the point of exhaustion, I stopped in the Merrillville,. Indiana Motel 6. The slim black woman that was behind the counter acted like she was mad I showed up. She asked me If I had a reservation. I said no. She shook her head and said fill out the form, someone else will take over. The way she said this was almost 'hostile'. I almost said something, but instead went aross the border to South Holland, Illinois and stayed at the Regency. I can see why people from Illinois don't like Indiana (just across the border) John, Ft. Wayne, Indiana. I was going to say if she doesn't like her job or people, I'll be more than happy to take her job. (I'm semi-retired and looking for part time work)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1974hfviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Importedtexan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is like the slum lord of motels. This is absolutely the worst motel EVER!!! Tried to check in at 7:30 p.m. and rooms were not clean even though we had reservations. When we finally got a room all they had were hand towels and wash cloths. When we called 3 times to get bath towels they finally said that they didn't have any bath towels and only hand towels and my husband had to go to the front desk to get them That is absolutely ridiculous!! I didn't even dare try to smell the sheets ... kinda scared to find out what I would discover. This motel really needs to be gutted out and be totally renovated. We were on the first floor and water kept on coming up through the tiles in the bathroom. Couldn't figure out where they were coming from. Must have been a leak through the tiles. I couldn't wait to check out. The motel looks fine from the outside but do not judge a book from it's cover because inside was another story. My mom's room ... the bathtub was painted and peeling off. I had to place 2 air fresheners in our room to alleviate the stench. It was better after awhile. I think I'm going to write a letter to Motel 6 Corporate have one of their upper management check it out for themselves. I am not exaggerating .... it's really that BAD!!! I felt like I was staying in the projects in that motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImportedTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 21 in Merrillville
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
#15 of 21 in Merrillville
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merrillville

Property: Motel 6 Merrillville
Address: 8290 Louisiana St, I-65 at Exit #253-A, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merrillville 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Merrillville is a smoke free property off I-65 conveniently located to dining, Southlake Mall, Deep River Waterpark, Lake County Fairgrounds, and Genesis Convention Center. Enjoy modern rooms with WiFi for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Merrillville
Merrillville Motel Six
Merrillville Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing