We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had high hopes..but did not meet them”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had high hopes..but did not meet them”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel, our first night was alright. The mattresses are little firm, but it was quiet considering an an entire baseball team stayed at the hotel too. However, the next day our showers were cold. Then the following day, we returned from our event and the hallway and our room smelled terribly of smoke. Upon leaving I figured out it was the room directly below ours that had been smoking. We did let management know, but they said they were aware and had several complaints. The front desk was friendly and the continental breakfast was good. We did not use the pool. The hotel was very kind to give us a call as we were driving home to inform us we had left some clothing behind in the closet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I am so sorry about the smoke issue, we will do what we can to improve that situation. We appreciate your business and hope you will give us another change to show improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    86
    36
    19
    25
See reviews for
91
64
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice clean and accommodating. Room was clean and bathroom was clean. Lobby was ok for the breakfast and lounging after a hard days drive. Plenty of free, safe and well lit parking lot. I have no cons for this hotel.

Room Tip: It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
7 cities in 7 days is very tiring, however, we are so glad that you chose us for one of the overnight stays. It is so good to know that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you visit again when you are in the area. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Best Western is the only motel chain that we will stay at, We have always had a nice room, great staff, relaxing pool, close to area restaurants, good showers and last but not least a good nights sleep. Thank you, Sami and Stephen Gordon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. As always it is a pleasure to know that we have made our guests stay pleasurable, memorable, and comfortable. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding customer service from check in to check out.
I will pass your comments on to our staff, and we look forward to seeing you and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had to find a hotel when I hit a pothole and had to stay overnight. Dealership took me to an area with several hotels and I chose this one.

Asked if a room was available and the desk clerk was very friendly and welcoming. He accommodated me with a very nice room. Well appointed and clean.

I needed to walk to a local restaurant and he provided me with directions in a friendly manner.

Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iMartinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that we could assist you while you had car repairs.
We strive to offer great service from check in to check out. We hope you had a safe remainder of your travel, please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a nice relaxing stop on our way out east. I only wish we'd been able to use the pool - the pool hours were too short for our needs. I stay in hotels very infrequently, so this may be considered a good value, compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am sorry about the pool hours not fitting your schedule, we have found the current hours are best for all visitors. We do appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I were having one of the worse weeks ever. He is a retired combat Veteran from the Marine Corp and suffers from PTSD very bad. We moved from our hometown of Hammond, Indiana to the sticks of Robinson , Illinois. We decide we were coming back home for the weekend to visit with our family, but had no where to stay especially with our dog. We stopped at Best Western where not only do they let our dog stay but they also give military discount along with great hospitality. They have a indoor pool and spa and a FULL breakfast. Definetley recommend this hotel and sure you will find it is a very pleasant experience with great prices as well.

Room Tip: I would say if you ask the staff will make it happen. We were in room 110 which we enjoyed because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank your husband for his service to our country. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit back home and that you chose to stay with us. Please make us you home when you need to visit the area again. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caspian, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

great hotel great breakfast, rooms were very confortable and quiet from out side noise. have stayed there before and will stay many more times I'm sure as I travel through there on business quite offten!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently. To exceed your expectations is our goal, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville

Property: Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Address: 8293 Louisiana Street, Merrillville, IN 46410-6345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merrillville
#3 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Indiana/Illinois border, the Best Western Inn & Suites of Merrillville offers the best in customer service, amenities and accommodations for an unbeatable value. This Merrillville area hotel boasts 52 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television with HBO and high-speed Internet access. Enjoy an array of amenities such as a complimentary continental breakfast, an indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub, exercise facility and limited business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merrillville
Merrillville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing