We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This room needs some attention”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Torrington, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This room needs some attention”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Over time, we've stayed at Econo Lodges whenever we can and have been well satisfied with both the accommodations and the price. However, this time we got a rude surprise. We were informed that this motel had recently went through a renovation. The location, appearance both outside and in, staff, and check in was good to great. Then, at the west entrance it happened. The cleaning staff were holding the outside entry door open while they smoked their cigarettes. The entry had wallpaper loose and hanging and stunk like some chemical. Just inside the interior entry door was our room door. The hall showed the results of an excellent renovation. Very pleasing. Upon entering our assigned roomed, it was obvious the previous occupant(s) had smoked their cigarettes in there. The air conditioner set on high soon took care of that situation. However, the dirty carpet soon turned our white socks black, the sink didn't have a stopper, and the bathroom floor was missing some tile and had chunks of dried tile adhesive sticking up. It appears the renovation didn't include this room. The bed was excellent as were the breakfasts. We are assuming this room just got overlooked as the rest of the place looked great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention. I have personally along with my maintenance team taken care of these issues. I hope that you will be willing to try us again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    12
    12
    22
See reviews for
32
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The shower still has someone's soap and washcloth. No security chain on door. Electrical cover missing. Bathroom tile is grossome. No dryer or towel rack k in bathroom. No light cover on ceiling light. Hallway makes you I'll before you get to the room. Sorry I booked this place. Don't make the same mistake!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickieprince2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

After the terrible reviews I expected a house of horrors. I found friendly staff, huge room with table and chairs, nice couch and reading chair with coffee table, great bed, modern bathroom and immaculately clean.
I could complain that one electric plug was missing its cover, and only one shampoo, or that the hot tub was gone and the pool was cool... But why would I want to?
I walked 100 feet to the Crackerbarrel.. Yum, sweet tea and grits....and all for $ 46.80 !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gegegoodlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay with us has been pleasant. We appreciate your review as well and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalona, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When I checked into this hotel, they asked me to sign a quiet policy that stated I would be responsible for any noise after 11 P.M. and if after one warning, I would have to leave. This policy made it a very quiet hotel after 11 P.M.

Our room looked like the maid had forgotten to finish sweeping but the girl from the front desk came immediately and swept the area.

Breakfast is just bagels, toast, donuts, juice, coffee, and cereal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We're very pleased that you were happy with the quietness of our property. I do apologize for the uncleanliness you experienced and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we can make sure that it does not happen again in the future. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with 5 kids. Indoor pool was very cold and hot tub was almost as cold. No pool towels were available. Rooms were big and clean. Two queen beds in each room were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very limited and was actually completely cleaned out and not serviced. After waiting, they eventually brought out more food. This place is okay if you need a cheap place with clean comfortable beds. Don't expect great amenities or service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was appalled to see the garbage can at the front door overflowing with trash, which spilled out along the side of the entrance and onto the walkway. Filth also in the hallways and rooms! I HAVE PICS

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank laurie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback, yours included. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future as we have made numerous changes since your previous stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

When my family and I arrived at econolodge,first impression.What did I get my family into?There was so many people in the lobby late at night,being very loud,using profanity as well.Being that this location is neigboring gary,indiana still I gave the benifit of the dought.HUGE MISTAKE!The room smelled horrible,the hallway was no better.The only good thing and I do meanthe ONLY GOOD THING about this place was Shannons great customer service,she was sweet and so very helpful.We left after a short while because of fear for our safety.I hope this review helps managment to stop letting the flow of local trash come into this hotel because it could be a nice place to stay.Give Shannon a raise for putting herself in danger.

Room Tip: Stay faraway from anything on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Myself and the team here at EconoLodge are very pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#10 of 21 in Merrillville
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
25 reviews
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 6201 Opportunity Ln, Merrillville, IN 46410-2776 (Formerly Lees Inn Merrillville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merrillville, IN Hotel - EconoLodge hotel located in Merrillville, IndianaWith convenient, easy access to Interstate 65, the newly-renovated EconoLodge(R) hotel in Merrillville, IN is the perfect location to reach such destinations as Chicago, Lake Michigan and the many attractions in the far northwest part of Indiana. This Merrillville, IN hotel is near Deep River Water Park, Star Plaza Theatre and the Majestic Star Casino. Indiana Dunes State Park is a short trip east along the shores of Lake Michigan. Guests of the EconoLodge hotel will enjoy the exercise room and indoor heated pool. Other amenities include: Free breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet,Free weekday newspaper,Free local calls, cable television, pillow-top mattress, coffee maker, desk. Some rooms offer a refrigerator; hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lees Hotel Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing