We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soccer Team Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Merrillville
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Soccer Team Friendly”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our team stayed here while we were playing games in the Midwest regional league. They allowed us to use the breakfast room and lobby for a team dinner. They were very accommodating and the rooms were nice and clean. The location was convenient and the staff very friendly. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelli W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review, June 11, 2015
Hi,

Thanks so much for the positive review. Hope to see you again soon.


Shelli. W

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
18
11
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked an overnight stay through the Holiday Inn website and received a discount for booking 8 days before the arrival date. The hotel's location is in the midst of many restaurants and other similarly priced hotels and I felt I was in a safe area. The parking lot was ample and well-lit, and I found parking near the front door and the side door for easy access to and from my room. The check-in process was flawless and the front desk agent was friendly and helpful. She gave me a bottle of water and offered a snack from a basket of two selections. There is a popcorn machine in the lobby with popcorn bags and assorted flavored popcorn salts and I helped myself to a bag of popcorn. There was another guest at the popcorn machine and we commented how this was a "nice touch." The amenities were nice and the room itself was spacious for the price. The room, bed linens and towels were very clean. The bed was comfortable and I had a very restful night after my long 7 hour drive from the Nashville area to Merrillville IN. The complimentary breakfast offered a good selection of various breakfast items and due to my long drive the night before I slept in and arrived just as the breakfast items were being cleared away but instead of being told the breakfast was no longer available, the very nice and friendly woman who replenishes the breakfast items invited me to partake of some of the breakfast items she had already removed to the kitchen area. The entire stay from start to finish was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I probably should have noticed something was amiss when there was a pack of earplugs and a little note alongside them in the basket of coffee and supplies for the coffee maker...

The rooms here are nice and clean, and the hotel is very convenient to the highway, restaurants, etc. but I will never stay here again purely because of how loud the place is. There are large gaps under the doors that allow all hallway noise to bounce right into your room, and the soundproofing in said hallways is either lacking or non-existent. Every little noise, from a door slamming to someone yelling the the hallway is right there for you to enjoy.

Service was ok, the breakfast was a hotel breakfast, and the rest of the stay was ok once I decided to use the complimentary ear plugs, but the fact that they make them a part of the amenities in the room means they know there is a problem with noise and choose to ignore it.

Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonS874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear JonS874,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding service and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is just OK. It is older and it shows. I hade little to no internet connection for my stay. I spent over a half hour every day on the phone with the internet company. The girl at the desk was very helpfull and tried but his is a hotel issue and I will most likely not stay here again when I am in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Terry B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am sorry that your visit was negatively affected by the Internet connection malfunctioning. Your review will be used to consider enhancements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done at a latter time.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times and always had a good experience. But this time the bed I slept in was like a rock! Did not sleep well at all. The breakfast was nice but nothing special. Pancakes were not that great but there were a couple other warm options. Coffee was cery good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndMomTexasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our initial impression was ok....enjoyed our first night. We woke up early the next morning and left the hotel around 7:30 am to pack my sister in law for the big move back to Columbia. After a very long and tiresome day of packing and loading a 24ft moving truck we made it back to our room around 6:30 pm...opened the door and NOTHING! The beds had not been made, the bathroom had not been cleaned, no fresh towels...nothing. I immediately called the front desk and was told "sorry" in a very nonchalant manner. We asked for clean towels and were provided those....we again left for a late dinner and arrived back to the sound of a party in the room across the hall....the party continued until 3:00am in the morning....we called the front desk to complain several times and were told that security would come up....I NEVER SAW SECURITY, not sure if they even had security. I had to leave at 4:30am to begin the journey home with just a few hours sleep. Called and spoke with the GM and was again told "sorry" and that he couldn't do anything for us because I booked the room through my travel club. To add insult to injury when I returned home and checked my account these fine folks charged me for two nights that I had already paid for. So that was my experience guess I should have ponied up and stayed at the Hampton Inn right beside it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redhawk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well For Starters Our Room Was In An O.K. Condition And Also Clean. But, It Had A Flipside To It Which Was After I Returned To My Room (That Night) I Had Noticed That It Was Still In The Condition That I Had Left It In. The Maid Had Skipped Our Room! I Was Not Satistfied With That, So The Next Day I Checked Out And Had Decided To Stay In The HIE In Schereville, IL. This Hotel Was Much Cleaner And Had Friendly Staff (Other Than HIE in Merrivile, IL) I HIGHLY Recommend This Hotel Instead.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyBoo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Merrillville, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear GabbyBoo22,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you were satisfied with the overall conditions of our hotel. However, I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Merrillville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Merrillville
Address: 8375 Georgia St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6290
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an excellent choice here in Merrillville, Indiana. We pride ourselves on exceedng our guests' expectations with friendly, professional service and sparkling guest rooms. Our guests enjoy a 100% smoke free environment, free parking, and free high-speed wireless internet throughout. We feature an indoor swimming pool, business center and print, fax, and copy services, and fitness center. We also have free passes to the nearby Gold’s Gym if guests are looking for more space and equipment. Our hotel features a large complimentary breakfast buffet. Along with breakfast breads, cereals, fruit, and yogurt, we also have hot options every day - eggs, breakfast meats, biscuits and gravy, and pancakes cooked to order. And of course, we have our famous warm, frosted cinnamon rolls that Holiday Inn Express is known for!Our hotel is conveniently located to the area’s best dining, entertainment, and attractions, as well as to I-65 and US-30, which allows for easy access to BP Refinery, US Steel, Siemens, Marathon, Ford, and many other local companies. We are also a great option before traveling into Chicago, visiting the beautiful Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, gambling at Horseshoe Casino, or taking in a show at the Star Plaza Theatre. We have 300 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate groups of up to 20. Let our staff do the planning, arranging, and preparing here at the hotel. We can provide groups many options from our breakfast, lunch, and snacks menu, as well as any audio-visual items guests may need. Whether you are traveling to Merrillville on business or leisure, our warm, hospitable staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and centralized location make us a great place for you to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
Holiday Inn Merrillville
Merrillville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing