We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serving raw and undercooked food”

MastersQue BBQ & Seafood Restaurant
Order Online
Ranked #119 of 169 Restaurants in Merrillville
Description: MastersQue BBQ & Seafood Restaurant is located on Rt 30 just W of Taft/55 in Merrillville and services Northwest Indiana. Seafood, BBQ Catering, Baby Back Ribs, Rib Tips, Jerk Chicken, Brisket, Hot Links, Turkey Legs & Tips, Fried Chicken, Wings
Restaurant details
Description: MastersQue BBQ & Seafood Restaurant is located on Rt 30 just W of Taft/55 in Merrillville and services Northwest Indiana. Seafood, BBQ Catering, Baby Back Ribs, Rib Tips, Jerk Chicken, Brisket, Hot Links, Turkey Legs & Tips, Fried Chicken, Wings
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Definitely won't be eating here again! Cooked shrimp are usually a orange color...these are grey and undercooked. I wondered why the 1 I ate tasted funny. The potatoes were overcooked. Even when I called and told him it wasn't cooked thoroughly, he had the nerve to ask me how do I know my food isn't cooked properly. I brought it back because I couldn't eat it and they still refused to refund me claiming that they can't and the system won't allow it...yeh right! Only a money hungry business refuses even after they have the food in hand The owner's only solution was cooking me more shrimp (6 shrimp to be exact since after he examined the food and played with it to pick out the shrimp that were raw and point out the cooked shrimp in the bag that I so called could've eaten) at an establishment that I could've already gotten salmonella poison from...exactly why would I even want to eat anything else from here...no thanks!!! I LEFT THE FOOD RIGHT THERE IN HIS HANDS AND WALKED OUT. What's the health department's number again? Go to Big Daddy's bbq or Bombers Bbq. The owner lacks good customer service skills period and could care less if someone gets food poisoning. There's a reason why he only has 3 stars here and turned off reviews on his FB page. He can't take criticism well clearly and is big headed...which is why many small businesses don't survive.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

We went to masterque for the first and last time the food was horrible and price is too high the supposed to be pound of crab legs had no season and she complain about the 4 pieces of ribs that barely had sauce and it taste like it been boil in vinger and a half of a half of fries lawd the Gumbo man make you want to vomit not going back hell to the no ps. I'm from New Orleans that's not GUMBO IT'S A HOT MESS

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Traveler28172004309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

This barbecue cost me almost $60.00 ok no problem but when I got it home it was so hard and undercooked I couldn't eat it.Even my son said this is horrible.In addition to waiting I ordered 2 walking tacos one with ring up and the other ground beef.I had to ask the lady for sour cream in which that's what I had ordered in the beginning.But I have to say the Gumbo was good.But I will never go back again.I was,very disappointed I'm sure that place won't be open long.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TrailBlazer714622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

I ordered a brisket sandwich with fries and pulled pork nachos. The bun for the sandwich was soggy, not that many fries and no bbq sauce on the tables for $12. I get more nachos at my kids sporting events for school plus they should offer to have bbq sauce put on it. Only reason I'm giving it a 2 star is because the smoke in the meats were great. I'm ate at plenty of bbq joints and this one is too pricey for the little amount of food you get. Probable won't be back in less they change their prices or give u more food.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

This little restaurant is a small family owned barbeque joint. We found average menu with medium pricing and all the sides are extra cost, including sauces for meats. The dining are was very plain, no napkins, salt or pepper or sauces on table. You place order at interior kitchen window and wait until they call your number. We were disappointed with the lack of welcoming atmosphere. Our orders were taken and not greeted and did not hear a word from the cashier until they called our number. They had a tv on but other than that, it was dead quiet.. no ambience.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MastersQue BBQ & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to MastersQue BBQ & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing