We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

check-in was handled very quickly. parking was very close to the front of the hotel, much closer than most hotels. we stopped by the bar to pick up some plates and silverware to bring to our room for eating some food we'd brought with us - no problem! all staff we encountered were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hon3yest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph N, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

hon3yest,

Our staff was delighted to read you comments about how pleasant and efficient they are. They are the best in every aspect of hospitality!!! We always have supplies on hand if your every need anything. I was glad to see that you noticed how quick and efficient our checkin process here. We look forward to seeing you next time you pass through Northwest Indiana!!

Safe Travels,
Joseph Noworyta
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 653 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in a " Up Graded Suite" for business. Overall the hotel is nice, friendly clerk to greet and check you in, made to order breakfast, and comfortable beds. However... management really needs hire a NEW cleaning crew. The room had sticky counter tops, the shower walls were dirty, the rug needs to be replaced... it is very .. very dirty, the small couch had awful stains on it. The counter top near the coffee machine had a thick dust ring around the edges with 8 coffee creamers wedged between the cabinet and wall. We were in room 309... I would not stay on that floor.. because clearly the maids need training on how to clean a room. Although the very dirty rug needs a good shampoo or deep ... deep cleaning. If the room had been cleaned better I would have rated higher. I spent the first 30 minutes washing down all the sticky counter tops and shower walls. The air freshener sprayed in the room to make you think it is clean....had a nice smell... but... the room was still dirty!

Also don't worry about setting an alarm. The maid will knock on your door along with ALL the other doors starting at 8:00am... Guaranteed to wake you up.. when you hear all the door banging from room to room. I thought this was very rude. Check out is at noon... but the maid will make sure you are up by 8:00... so don't plan on sleeping in.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor maids need to learn how to clean. Check your room out first before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChgoGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph N, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

ChgoGal2,

I wanted to apologize on behalf of the Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville for your most recent stay. The experience that you had by far is not the norm here by any means. Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the TripAdvisor review. We look forward to seeing you when you come back to visit us!!!

Joseph Noworyta
Assistant General Manager
Joseph.Noworyta@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel - from the minute we walked in we felt very welcome. Joe - the 1st face of the hotel was by far the most efficient friendly helpful desk clerk we have ever checked in with. We found our room very clean & comfortable. Our breakfast on Sunday morning was very good - but the service we received from the complete breakfast staff was excellent. Joe the desk clerk even came over to ask us how we enjoyed our stay - that was a 1st for us too. People should stay here just to experience the staff - incredible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph N, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Laurie043,

Wow!!!! We were ecstatic to read you review!!!! Our staff performs at the highest level possible at all times in every department. It also looks like the Wisconsin Badgers are still winning!!!! I hope you were able to get to try Gelsosomos Pizza. It really does taste just like your personal favorite Aurelios. I really hope that we see you soon!!

Bon Appetit!!!

Joseph Noworyta
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I confirmed for a two bed room, but was informed upon check in that the only rooms available were a king and a pull out. Pull out was very uncomfortable, but otherwise room was clean and nice. The staff were all very nice. The furnishings in the room were nice. Overall, this is a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank angela907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph N, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

angela907,

We were glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville!! The staff that we have is the best in the business!!! We look forward to seeing you when you make your way back out to Merrillville. See you next time!!!!!!

Joseph Noworyta
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Being away from home, family, everyday routine etc...is hard in itself. I stayed here for two weeks and it was home away from home, so much I started saying "on my way home" the service was amazing and they treated us very well. The breakfast crew Mia, Deangelo, Erica, and many others were on point. Greeting us by name, remembering our drink order, engaging in conversation, along with caring of all the other guest. The food was amazing I highly recommend Erica's " French toast" has to made by her. PHENOMENAL!!! Mia and Deangelo were a pleasure. Very attentive and caring!! I miss them now that I'm home and would highly recommend this place....Tom, Jaimee, and Michelle were very helpful at the front desk, always asked how our day was, and if we needed anything. I've stayed at more then my share, but the service is exceptional and I will return. Not everyone is mentioned by name but the entire staff was very nice.
The only complaint I have is the hotel manager seemed upset every time we saw her, she never spoked to us, or her staff for that matter when she came in when I was their. I asked who she was bc she looked like she was angry. After finding out she was the manager I was displeased that she never once said hi or bye to us We stayed 2 weeks!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlynn9209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was plesant and knowledgeable. They have a good breakfast and dinner too. The rooms are clean and spacious. It's in a convient place by the mall and plenty of eating places. This hotel made a world of difference in my stay in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

great location , clean rooms, comfortable beds and experience. friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff , highly recommended, good Hilton honors program, ample parking, breakfast was cooked to order and relatively quick

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 22 in Merrillville
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#4 of 22 in Merrillville
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#6 of 22 in Merrillville
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#8 of 22 in Merrillville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville

Address: 7775 Mississippi St, Merrillville, IN 46410-5710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range: $113 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing