We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to this property. Hotel is everything you expect from HGI. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Staff is awesome. Conveniently 2 blocks off interstate in a nice area with plenty of chain casual restaurants nearby, including Starbucks, IHOP, Coopers Hawk, etc. Mall and Target are a couple blocks away. Not a five star hotel of course, but I give it five stars as an HGI. Would definitely stay here anytime I'm in the area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracenava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    150
    61
    30
    23
See reviews for
187
106
30
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

FANTASTIC staff!! Many greet us by name upon arrival or when they first see us. Always clean & comfortable. Cooked to order or breakfast buffet is a decided plus! Great location (handy to the expressways and central to numerous northwest Indiana commmunities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I mentioned a situation with the room. I had booked a suite and it wasn't the one I booked. I told them my concerns, my sister was getting married and I needed that room for hair and makeup for the bridesmaids. The manager Joe and Maria gave me the banquet room FREE of charge to accommodate us.
The maid brought us plenty of towels to accommodate the girls.
The breakfast was excellent and the kitchen staff was the best!! Someone in the kitchen named Mia, was the very best. She made sure we had everything we needed. It was truly a Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjor365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently met with high school classmates at the Merrillville Hilton Garden Inn for our 50th reunion. We had a reserved block of rooms for the event and utilized the banquet facility. The accommodations, food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Freddi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here as a recommendation by the wedding party. We were satisfied with the stay. Rooms were clean, hotel staff was very helpful. Only thing that I can comment on in a negative was that our room was on the 1st floor across from the pool so there was a lot of hallway noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel was clean and accommodating. It is close to many good restaurants and the area in general is good. Would stay there again. It is also only about a 45 minute drive to Chicago so you can do some sight seeing while staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It would have been so funny to see the cement truck pouring the bed I slept on because I am certain it was made of cement. Do not stay in room 213. And for your best interested, take a roll of scotch tape and tape the Do Not Disturb sign to the door. My fell on the ground at some point over night and evidently the maid couldn't see so she knocked on the door and shouted "housekeeping" and then immediately and I mean immediately, entered the room. Then a few minutes later after hearing the same thing happen in all the rooms around us, someone on the housekeeping staff decided that running the weeper down the hall by the elevators was the right thing to be doing at 9:27 am. Let me say we are Hilton Honors members, we try to stay loyal to the brand. This particular hotel is clean, great location to the highway and most of the staff are great. The housekeeping staff could definitely learn some manners. The additional thing that really surprised us was the fact that you can hear the people upstairs stomping around and the doors have absolutely no insulation. People walking down the hall cane be heard very well. This wasn't a horrible hotel, but I will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisapleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our some aspects of our hotel. I am so sorry that our housekeeping staff disturbed you while you were in your room. I can assure you that this is very rare to occur; however, I can very much empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be assured that the feedback you provided in your review will be taken into consideration so that we may improve our guests’ in-property experience. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Safe Travels,

Joshua Sanders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites of Merrillville
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Merrillville
Residence Inn Merrillville
#5 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Address: 7775 Mississippi Street, Merrillville, IN 46410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing