We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Nearby Hotels
$89
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$111
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$92
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveler rating
430
186
70
32
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
186
70
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskbreakfast staffcommon areasroom was cleanvery nice hotela great staybusiness centerfamily reunionstaff was very friendlyfree breakfastshopping and restaurantswould stay here againhot tubfirst floorhgijanelobby
Filter
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 748 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Besides the drama of walking into a bathroom only to encounter a disgusting toilet, the carpet was filthy. It looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in a long time. There were hair pins and finger nail clippings. I asked they clean the room while we went to dinner but upon returning, only the toilet was cleaned

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Steve S.,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Joshua Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here two nights for a business trip. I needed to travel between Gary IN and Valparaiso IN and this was a perfect location. I enjoyed the mushroom wrap on the dinner menu, however felt the menu items were over priced. Customer service and cleanliness was as expected, nothing extra to comment about. Rooms were nice and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgias944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Georgia S.,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip through the area. We greatly appreciate your feedback especially regarding your experience during dinner. The mushroom wrap is one of my favorites as well. Hopefully on your next trip through the area you will stay with us again.

Safe Travels,

Joshua Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff at the Hilton were just wonderful. We had to make a room change because of some issues with the room. The change happened within a matter of minutes and the staff checked with us daily to make sure we were happy with our room. The staff were also very friendly and check-in/check-out went smoothly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sharri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Sharri,

Thank you for submitting a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is great to see that even though you had a concern about your first room your needs were taken care of in a fastidious manner. I will let the Front Desk staff know they did a great job in taking care of your needs. Thank you again for staying with us. It would be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joshua Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent room, service, check-in, conference room, breakfast and amenities. Our staff had a great time for our business retreat. The hotel staff were kind and met each of our needs for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Jefferey,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience with us. It is wonderful to see you enjoyed your time with us during your business retreat. Hopefully when you are planning your next one you think of us. It would be a pleasure to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Joshua Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice hotel. Lobby is very nice and big with lots of room to relax in the company of other guests. Guest room was large in size and very clean. Staff was nice and helpful. Ask about the breakfast package when booking your reservation; it can save you on breakfast which is very good but can be pricey for a large family. We stopped here on our way from Cincinnati to Chicago for weekend with our kids - it is in a great location just about 50 miles south of the city - allowed us to wake up and get into the city early so that we had the whole day ahead of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with us. It is awesome to see you took advantage of the Bed and Breakfast package we offer. The bundled service takes off an average of $5.00 per adult and allows up to two children to eat for free. We greatly appreciate your mention of it in your review. I hope you enjoyed The Windy City the day(s) you visited. It would be great to have you with us again on your next trip to the area.

Safe Travels,

Joshua Sanders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews